fbpx
跳到内容
精选 变革理论

我们不会让我们失望

日出志愿者欢呼

我们正面临着我们计划的场景:在地方选举官员对每张选票进行计数和统计后,拜登不可避免地获胜。 截至今天美国东部时间下午 5 点,乔·拜登 (Joe Biden) 拥有一条清晰且极有可能取得胜利的道路。 它将接近 - 但我们将达到 270。

但看起来我们也可以期待特朗普和公司试图保住权力的一些阴暗诡计。 现在很平静,但我们看到地平线上的乌云变暗。 我们正在观察风向标,在风暴的第一个迹象——选举官员表现出屈服于特朗普过早和非法的胜利主张的那一刻——我们将立即采取行动。

我们将回顾接下来的几天,并记住这是我们的民主受到考验、我们的运动得到动员、人民的诚实意志占上风的时刻。

我的信心在表演上并不充满希望:我只是在阅读我们运动的故事。

回想一月。 我和几乎所有人一样,对未来感到非常乐观。 伯尼在民意调查中领先,我们正在为地球日做大计划,澳大利亚的火灾要求将气候变化作为全球舞台上的前沿和中心危机。 感觉就像我们的梦想世界触手可及。

但在短短几周内,我们对未来的所有期望都发生了翻天覆地的变化。 伯尼在超级星期二输了,然后就退学了。 COVID 遭受重创,我们花了 50 月的时间试图找出如何最好地保护我们自己和我们的社区免受病毒侵害。 在第 XNUMX 个地球日淹没街道似乎不太可能。 然后乔治·弗洛伊德 (George Floyd) 被谋杀,布伦娜·泰勒 (Breonna Taylor)、艾哈迈德·阿伯里 (Ahmaud Arbery) 和无数其他名字在整个夏天都在城市街道上响起。 秋天来了,RBG 死了,特朗普升级了他的种族主义竞选信息。 一切都没有我们预期的那样。 今年,准确地说,真的他妈的糟透了。

尽管如此,我们还是坚持了下来。 伯尼的竞选活动结束了,但我们的运动却没有。 我们收回了我们的革命梦想,自己将它发扬光大。 当COVID受到重创时,我们进行了反击。 我们开发了一个人们的拨号器来检查我们的邻居和中心,帮助向那些容易感染病毒或在我们的经济崩溃中失去工作的人提供互助。 我们将地球日带到线上,在数字世界中组织起来,并实践安全行动和艺术构建。 我们加入了数百万创纪录的抗议人数,要求黑人的命也是命。 我们帮助聚焦美国的种族主义警务系统,并与盟友一起使种族正义成为夏天的声音。 现在,站在黑人生活一边的美国人比以往任何时候都多。

我们将绿色新政直接注入乔拜登的竞选活动中。 我们告诉他:气候是一个成功的问题。 我们极力推动他,直到他采用了“小绿色新政”。 在竞选的最后几天,他在最后一分钟的表现是大胆的气候行动。 我们是对的,我们的想法促使数百万美国人在这次选举中投票支持气候——其中很多选民是我们组织的年轻人。

根据我们自己的最终统计,我们联系了 3.5万选民. 我们向摇摆州的年轻选民寄出了一百万张明信片。 我们进行了 Zoom 培训,在线组织,我们通过电话银行、文本银行和投票使数百万选民增加了两倍。 摇摆州的青年投票赢得了拜登的支持—— 我们的运动 拜登的选举摇摆不定。 他不是我们的人,但我们挺身而出击败了特朗普。 拜登欠我们很多时间。

我们不会让他忘记的。 我们将于 20 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日敲开白宫的大门,提出我们的绿色新政要求。 但首先我们需要确保他能上任。

我不知道在接下来的几天和几周内会发生什么。 很多事情都不确定,但我们的青年联盟做了最坏的打算,抱有最好的希望,并制定了介于两者之间的所有方案。

只需阅读我们运动的故事——无论前方有暴风雨,我们都已做好准备。 我们作为一个运动的力量将受到考验,但我绝对相信我们有能力在行动中自律并成功执行我们的计划。 我看到它已经在全国范围内发生:日出中心在密歇根州、威斯康星州、宾夕法尼亚州、北卡罗来纳州和亚利桑那州,走上街头或出现在投票中心。 即使在我深蓝色的加利福尼亚州或纽约—— 我们都在采取行动,要求计算每一张选票。

我可以从未来看到我们,从 2030 年开始,不再只是气​​候孩子,而是绿色新政十年的领导者。 我们将回顾这一刻,我们将为我们从未放弃这场斗争而感到自豪。 我们将非常感激,我们从未陷入绝望。 我们站在历史的正确一边,保护了这次选举的这一结果,并利用拜登政府将我们的梦想变为现实。

未来的我们指望现在的我们。 我们不会让他们失望的。

fbpx
Skip to content
Sunrise Volunteer Cheering
Featured Theory Of Change

We won’t let us down

We’re facing the scenario we planned for: an inevitable Biden win after local election officials count and tally every vote. As of 5PM EST today, Joe Biden holds a clear and very likely path to victory. It will be close — but we will make it to 270.

But it also looks like we can expect some shady scheming from Trump and company attempting to hold onto power. It’s calm right now, but we see clouds darkening on the horizon. We are watching the weather vane, and at the first sign of a storm — the moment election officials show signs of giving in to Trump’s premature and illegitimate claim of a victory — we will spring into action.

We will look back on these next few days and remember this as a time our democracy was tested, our movement mobilized, and the honest will of the people prevailed.

My confidence is not performatively hopeful: I am just reading the story of our movement.

Think back to January. I, like pretty much everyone else, felt extremely optimistic about the future. Bernie was leading in the polls, we were planning big for Earth Day, and the fires in Australia demanded climate change as a front and center crisis on the global stage. It felt like our dream world was in reach.

But in a matter of a few weeks, all of our expectations about the future were flipped. Bernie lost on Super Tuesday and then dropped out. COVID hit hard, and we spent March trying to figure out how to best protect ourselves and our communities from the virus. Flooding the streets for the 50th Earth Day seemed unlikely. Then George Floyd was murdered, and Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, and countless other names rang loud for the whole summer through city streets. Fall came, RBG died, and Trump escalated his racist campaign messaging. Nothing turned out as we expected. This year, to put it precisely, has really fucking sucked.

Despite it all, we kept on. Bernie’s campaign ended, but our movement did not. We took back our revolutionary dream to carry it forward ourselves. When COVID hit hard, we hit back. We developed a people’s dialer to check up on our neighbors and hubs helped deliver mutual aid to those vulnerable to the virus, or who lost their jobs in our economic collapse. We brought Earth Day online, organized in the digital world, and practiced safe actions and art builds. We joined millions in record protest numbers to demand that Black Lives Matter. We helped shine a spotlight on the racist system of policing in America, and joined allies in making racial justice the sound of summer. Now, more Americans than ever are on the side of Black Lives.

We injected the Green New Deal straight into Joe Biden’s campaign. We told him: climate is a winning issue. We pushed him hard until he adopted “Green New Deal Jr.” In the final days of the campaign, his last minute play was to run on bold climate action. We were right, and our idea drove millions of Americans to vote for climate this election — and a lot of those voters were young people we organized.

At our own final count, we contacted 3.5 million voters. We sent a million postcards to young voters in swing states. We trained on zoom, organized online, and we phonebanked, textbanked, and vote tripled millions of voters. The youth vote in swing states clinched the states for Biden — our movement swung the election for Biden. He was not our guy, but we rose to the occasion to defeat Trump. Biden owes us big time.

We will not let him forget it. We will come knocking on the White House door January 20th, 2021 and make our Green New Deal demands. But first we need to make sure he makes it into office.

I do not know what will unfold in the days and weeks to come. A lot is uncertain, but our youth coalition planned for the worst, hoped for the best, and mapped out all the scenarios in between.

Just read the story of our movement — no matter the storm ahead, we are ready. Our strength as a movement will be tested, but I have absolute faith in our ability to be disciplined in action and successfully execute our plans. I see it happening already across the country: Sunrise Hubs are in Michigan, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, and Arizona, taking to the streets or showing up at ballot centers. Even in my deep blue state of California or in New York — we are all taking action to demand every vote is counted.

I can see Us from the future, from 2030, no longer just the climate kids but the leaders of the decade of the Green New Deal. We will look back on this moment, and we will be so proud that we never gave up this fight. We will be so grateful we never gave into despair. We stood on the right side of history, protected this outcome of this election, and used the Biden administration to bring our dream to life.

The Us of the future is counting on Us in the now. We won’t let them down.