fbpx
跳到内容
变革理论

民用气候部队 (CCC),解释

CCC解释

什么是民用气候部队?

民间气候军团是一项有远见的政策,将创造一个 政府就业计划让新一代美国人参与应对气候危机

更具体地说,这是一个由内政和农业部组织的计划,旨在“保护和恢复公共土地和水域,增强社区复原力,增加重新造林,增加农业部门的碳固存,保护生物多样性,改善娱乐机会,并应对不断变化的气候。” 

创意从何而来?

Civilian Climate Corps 的灵感来自富兰克林·D·罗斯福总统创建的一项类似计划,该计划称为 平民保护队. 作为他在大萧条期间标志性的新政计划之一推出的平民保护团是一项全国性的公共工作救济计划,在过去的十年中雇佣了超过 XNUMX 万名工人来建造、修复和保护美国的森林、公园和自然资源. 

该计划成功地使数百万男性摆脱了失业,并在大萧条时期的低谷期大大改善了我们国家的自然基础设施,但平民保护团存在严重缺陷,包括几乎只雇用白人男性的排他性种族主义和性别歧视做法及其未经同意的做法在被盗的美洲原住民土地上开发。 这就是为什么这次要成功, 现代民间气候部队必须深深植根于公平和平等,并有足够的勇气面对我们这个时代的危机. 我们有机会为一个深深植根于正义和公平的民间气候军团而战,它可以优先为那些因气候危机、系统性种族主义和我们破碎的经济而受到不成比例伤害的社区提供好工作。

在 2020 年总统竞选周期中,Sunrise 率先提出了一个新的平民气候军团的想法, 一项旨在为人们提供良好、有尊严的工作以应对气候变化和为公众服务。 具体来说,Varshini 推动桑德斯-拜登工作组将其纳入拜登的“重建更好”计划,而 Sunrise 围绕该想法发起了数字运动。 从那时起,拜登总统和国会的气候拥护者都将其带到了政治的前沿。

CCC的现状

一月 民间气候军团的成立是拜登总统气候行政命令的一部分,但没有资金使其成为现实。 然后在三月, 拜登要求国会在 10 年内提供 10 亿美元资助该计划 作为他近 3 万亿美元的一部分 美国就业基础设施法案(AJP)。 现在 AJP 前往国会,像 CCC 这样的项目将进行谈判,并最终纳入国会将投票表决的大规模基础设施一揽子计划,拜登可能会在 XNUMX 月或 XNUMX 月签署成为法律。

目前,华盛顿特区周围有一些民间气候团的提案。 我们运动的工作是确保根植于正义的最雄心勃勃的 CCC 版本成为最终的基础设施包,并且该包被签署成为法律。


拜登在哪里?

到目前为止,拜登对他版本的民间气候军团的细节一直含糊其辞,除了以下声明:“这笔 10 亿美元的投资将使新一代多元化的美国人致力于保护我们的公共土地和水域,支持社区恢复力,并通过一个新的平民气候军团推进环境正义,同时让更多的美国人能够获得高薪工会工作。” 

虽然这听起来不错,但环境经济学家和政策制定者 同意 这笔资金并没有接近我们应对危机所需的资金。 罗斯福最初的 CCC 每年雇用大约 300,000 名年轻的美国人,当时美国人口约为现在的 40%。 拜登提议的 CCC 将在十年内投资 10 亿美元,相当于每年约 10-20,000 个工作岗位。

我们需要的 CCC 是什么?

艾德·马基参议员上。 4 月 20 日, 参议员埃德·马基 (Ed Markey) 为我们这一代和国家需要的民间气候军团提出了一项提案. 他的计划要求雇用一个公平和多元化的团队 1.5 年内 5 万美国人 完成清洁能源、气候适应力、环境修复、保护和可持续基础设施项目,同时提供教育、培训和良好工作的职业道路,尤其是良好的工会工作。 

Ed Markey 法案中提议的民间气候团将为数百万人提供良好的工作,以应对气候变化和改变我们的社会。 如果成为法律,将标志着绿色新政十年的开始,并为以后更好、更大的就业计划敞开大门。

一个强大的民用气候部队会做什么?

民间气候部队将 为数百万人提供好工作 失业或就业不足并遭受全球大流行和严重经济衰退的影响的人,与工会和雇主合作,为他们提供一条通往稳定、有意义的长期职业生涯的途径。 我们的国家正面临着如此多的危机、历史性的失业和经济不平等、枪支暴力、警察对黑人和棕色人种的频繁谋杀、国家对抗议者的镇压以及笼罩在这一切之上的气候危机。 有这么多工作要做,任何想在世界上最富裕国家工作的人都没有理由失业、就业不足或工作没有生活工资、福利或加入工会的权利。 

我们需要数百万人做好应对这些危机的工作,并且 我们需要迫使联邦政府以必要的规模将 CCC 之类的提案纳入法律. 想象一个世界,数百万人,包括刚毕业的高中毕业生和中年人,可以从事保护社区免受海平面上升、照顾老年人、在食物沙漠中分发新鲜农产品、恢复湿地和气候后重建的项目灾难,同时获得生活工资,获得医疗保健,并获得学徒以继续他们的职业生涯,而不是在亚马逊工作让杰夫贝索斯更富有?

CCC 工作会是什么样子?

这些工作将包括更传统的气候职业,但也应包括帮助社区变得强大和更具弹性的工作。 您的 CCC 职业可能是照顾老人、创建图形以帮助促进您所在城镇或城市的气候政策、社区和儿童教育、组织本地化食品计划或建立新的社区系统以限制您社区的碳排放和污染。 

我们希望政府投资并扩大在大流行期间保持社会运转的互助工作。 通过绿色新政工作,您可以与供应汉堡肉饼的当地农民建立友谊。 工作场所的民主意味着每个人都可以提出项目以提高他们的朝九晚五。通过选择不成为机器人来最大化利润,您可以加强您的社区。 那个简单的哲学转变 可以使所有工作“绿色” - 非采掘, 为您的引擎盖和子孙后代种植一些美丽的东西。 如果我们的政府使绿色新政工作的薪酬尽可能高且有意义,我们就可以提高所有就业的门槛。

无论您的职业是什么,马基计划都要求:

  • 良好的薪水和福利:每小时至少 15 美元的补偿、全面的医疗保健以及重要的支持服务,例如交通、住房和儿童保育。 
  • 教育经费:完成并启用每年 25,000 美元的教育补助金,最高可达 50,000 美元,有资格接受任何级别的继续教育或偿还学生债务。
  • 长期职业机会:通过教育、职业培训以及与工会和雇主的合作,所有 CCC 成员将在服务期间获得工作和职业道路
  • 公平招聘和投资: 确保环境正义社区获得至少 50% 的 CCC 和 Partner Corps 项目的收益,并且 50% 的 corpsmember 是从这些社区招募的,参与至少 50% 的 Partner Corps 没有年龄限制。 

我们如何赢得平民气候军团

在不止一个方面,我们运动过去四年的工作一直在引领这一时刻。 我们可以在国会支持我们的绿色新政拥护者,并迫使联邦政府制定一项计划,创造数百万个应对气候变化的好工作。 

我们想看看签署成为法律的马基法案中的内容。 该过程的第一步是让 CCC 作为拜登更大的基础设施包的一部分获得通过,因此我们的首要任务是确保 CCC 包含在该包中并且该包最终通过。

国会中的民主党人不是单独通过每个不同的法案 可能会使用一个名为“预算对帐= 将他们的优先事项纳入法律。 使用和解,他们可以将许多立法纳入一个大法案,该法案将通过(或失败)单次上下投票。 民主党认为这将使他们更有机会通过许多政治优先事项,因为它们包含在一个大型基础设施一揽子计划中,而不是单独的法案中,并且需要获得 50 票而不是 60 票才能成为法律。 

基础设施通道可能通过和解这一事实也意味着民主党领导人——拜登、查克舒默和南希佩洛西——将对最终基础设施方案中的内容有很多发言权,并且 在公众中大力支持我们想要的 CCC(马基的版本)将是向他们施压的最佳方式——尤其是拜登. 因为我们现在不太可能在和解过程之外赢得许多单独的进步立法,我们的看法是 如果我们能够通过公众支持重塑和通过拜登的法案,我们就可以建立 CCC 的权力、资金和重点,以创建参议员 Markey 在他的法案中提出的计划,这就是我们应得的 CCC。 

我们的运动需要共同努力,在我们的社区中为马基版本的民间气候军团建立广泛的支持,通过行动向我们的国会议员施加压力,签署“为所有人创造好工作”的承诺,并准备动员起来确保 CCC 法案的第一步实际上是在夏天晚些时候过去的。

我们现在可以做什么来获得 CCC

该国正处于拜登的象征性变革姿态与我们应对危机所需的大胆行动之间的十字路口。 我们需要,我们应得的比目前摆在桌面上的要多得多。 以下是一些获取更多信息和更多参与的机会:

fbpx
Skip to content
Theory Of Change

The Civilian Climate Corps (CCC), Explained

CCC Explained

What is the Civilian Climate Corps?

The Civilian Climate Corps is a visionary policy that would create a government jobs program putting a new generation of Americans to work combatting the climate crisis

More specifically, it’s a program organized through the Department of the Interior and Agriculture and aims to “conserve and restore public lands and waters, bolster community resilience, increase reforestation, increase carbon sequestration in the agricultural sector, protect biodiversity, improve access to recreation, and address the changing climate.” 

Where does the idea come from?

The Civilian Climate Corps was inspired by a similar program created by President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s called the Civilian Conservation Corps. Launched as one of his signature New Deal programs during the Great Depression, the Civilian Conservation Corps was a national public work relief program that employed over three million workers over a decade building, repairing, and conserving the United States forests, parks, and natural resources. 

The program succeeded in pulling millions of men out of unemployment and drastically improved our nation’s natural infrastructure during the lows of the Great Depression, but the Civilian Conservation Corps had deep flaws, including exclusionary racist and sexist practices of hiring almost solely white men and its nonconsensual development on stolen Native American land. That’s why to succeed this time around, the modern Civilian Climate Corps must be deeply rooted in equity and equality and be brave enough to face the scale of the crises of our time. We have an opportunity to fight for a Civilian Climate Corps deeply rooted in justice and equity, that could prioritize giving good jobs to communities who have been disproportionately harmed by the climate crisis, systemic racism and our broken economy.

During the 2020 presidential campaign cycle, Sunrise spearheaded the idea of a new Civilian Climate Corps, one to give people good, dignified jobs combating climate change and serving the public. Specifically, Varshini pushed for it on the Sanders-Biden task force to be in Biden’s Build Back Better plan and Sunrise launched digital campaigns around the idea. Since then, it has been brought to the forefront of politics by both President Biden and climate champions in Congress.

The Current Status of the CCC

In January, the Civilian Climate Corps was established as part of President Biden’s executive orders on climate, but had no funding to make it a reality. Then in March, Biden asked Congress to provide $10 billion over 10 years to fund the program as part of his nearly $3 trillion American Jobs Infrastructure bill(AJP). Now the AJP is headed to Congress, where programs like the CCC will be negotiated on and ultimately put into a massive infrastructure package that Congress will vote on and Biden will sign into law, likely by August or September.

Right now, there are a handful of Civilian Climate Corps proposals floating around Washington DC. It’s our movement’s job to make sure the most ambitious version of a CCC that’s rooted in justice makes it into the final infrastructure package, and that that package is signed into law.


Where’s Biden at?

So far, Biden has been pretty vague about the details for his version of the Civilian Climate Corps , other than this statement: “This $10 billion investment will put a new, diverse generation of Americans to work conserving our public lands and waters, bolstering community resilience, and advancing environmental justice through a new Civilian Climate Corps, all while placing good-paying union jobs within reach for more Americans.” 

While this sounds good, environmental economists and policy makers agree that this amount of funding doesn’t get close to what we need to address the crisis. Roosevelt’s original CCC employed around 300,000 young Americans per year at a time when the US population was ~40% what it is now. Biden’s proposed CCC would invest $10 billion over a decade, equating to about 10-20,000 jobs a year.

What is the CCC We Need?

Enter Senator Ed Markey. On 4/20, Senator Ed Markey rolled out a proposal for the Civilian Climate Corps  our generation and country needs. His plan calls for employing an equitable and diverse group of 1.5 million Americans in 5 years to complete clean energy, climate resilience, environmental remediation, conservation, and sustainable infrastructure projects, while providing education, training, and career pathways in good jobs, and especially good union jobs. 

The Civilian Climate Corps proposed in Ed Markey’s bill would give millions of people good jobs fighting climate change and transforming our society. If passed into law, it would signify the beginning of the decade of the Green New Deal, and open the door for better, bigger employment programs down the road.

What would a robust Civilian Climate Corps do?

The Civilian Climate Corps  would give good jobs to the millions of people who are out of work or underemployed and suffering from the effects of a global pandemic and severe economic recession, and work in partnership with unions and employers to give them a pathway to stable, meaningful careers for the long haul. Our country is facing so many crises, historic joblessness and economic inequality, gun violence, frequent murders of Black and brown people by the police, state repression of protestors and a climate crisis that looms over it all. With so much work to do, there’s no reason anyone who wants a job in the richest country in the world should be unemployed, underemployed, or working a job without a living wage, benefits, or the right to join a union. 

We need millions of people doing the good work of addressing these crises, and we need to force the federal government to put proposals like the CCC into law at the necessary scale. Imagine a world where millions of people, recent high school graduates and middle-aged alike, could work on projects protecting communities from sea-level rise,  taking care of the elderly, distributing fresh produce in food deserts, restoring wetlands, and rebuilding after climate disasters, while getting paid a living wage, having access to healthcare, and getting apprenticed to continue their career, instead of working a shitty job at Amazon making Jeff Bezos richer?

What Could A CCC Job look Like?

These jobs will include more traditional climate careers, but should also include jobs that help communities become strong and more resilient. Your CCC career could be caring for the elderly, creating graphics to help promote climate policies in your town or city, community and child education, organizing localized food programs, or building out new community systems to limit carbon emissions and pollution in your community. 

We want the government to invest in, and scale, the mutual aid work that keeps society running during the pandemic. With Green New Deal jobs, you can build friendships with the local farmers who supply the burger patties. Democracy in the workplace means everyone can pitch projects to improve their 9 to 5. By choosing not to be a robot to maximize profit, you can strengthen your community. That simple philosophical shift can make all jobs “Green” – non-extractive, planting something beautiful for your hood and future generations. If our government makes Green New Deal jobs as good-paying and meaningful as possible, we can raise the bar for all employment.

Whatever your career is the Markey plan is calling for:

  • Good salary and benefits: Compensation of at least $15 per hour, full health care coverage, and critical support services such as transportation, housing, and childcare. 
  • Educational Funding: Complete and enabling educational grants of $25,000 per year of service, up to $50,000, eligible for further education at any level or to pay down student debt.
  • Long Term Career Opportunities: All CCC members will be provided with a job and career pathway during their service through education,vocational training, and partnership with unions and employers
  • Equitable recruitment and investment: ensuring that environmental justice communities receive benefits of at least 50% of CCC and Partner Corps projects, and 50% of corpsmembers are be recruited from these same communities, with no age limit for participation in at least 50% of Partner Corps. 

How we can win a Civilian Climate Corps

In more ways than one, the past four years of our movement’s work have been leading up to this moment. We can back up our Green New Deal champions in Congress and force the federal government to enact a program creating millions of good jobs fighting climate change. 

We want to see what was laid out in Markey’s bill signed into law. The first step in that process is by getting the CCC passed as part of Biden’s larger infrastructure package, so it’s our priority to make sure the CCC is included in that package and that the package ultimately passes.

Instead of passing each different bill individually, the Democrats in Congress are likely going to use a process called “budget reconciliation to pass their priorities into law. Using reconciliation, they can include many pieces of legislation into one big bill that will pass (or fail) through a single up-down vote. Dems think this will give them a better shot at passing many of their political priorities since they are included in one big infrastructure package, not stand-alone bills, and would need to get 50 not 60 votes to become law. 

The fact that the infrastructure passage is likely to pass through reconciliation also means that Democratic leadership – Biden, Chuck Schumer and Nancy Pelosi – will have a lot of say over what is included in the final infrastructure package, and building loud support in the public for the CCC we want (Markey’s version) is going to be the best way to pressure them – especially Biden. Because it’s unlikely that we will win many individual pieces of progressive legislation right now outside of the reconciliation process, our take is that if we can reshape and pass Biden’s bill through public support we can build up the power, funding, and focus of the CCC to create the program Senator Markey put forward in his bill, which is the CCC we deserve. 

Our movement needs to work together to build broad support in our communities for Markey’s version of the Civilian Climate Corps, pressure our Members of Congress through actions  to sign the Good Jobs for All pledge and prepare to mobilize to ensure the first step of the CCC bill actually passes later in the summer.

What We Can Do Now To Get the CCC

The country stands at a crossroads between Biden’s symbolic gestures at change and the bold action we need to address the crisis. We need, we deserve so much more than is currently on the table. Here are some opportunities to get more information and get more involved: