fbpx
انتقل إلى المحتوى
نظرية التغيير

شرح هيئة المناخ المدني (CCC)

أوضح CCC

ما هو فيلق المناخ المدني؟

The Civilian Climate Corps هي سياسة ذات رؤية من شأنها أن تخلق a برنامج الوظائف الحكومية يضع جيلًا جديدًا من الأمريكيين للعمل على مكافحة أزمة المناخ

وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا ، إنه برنامج تم تنظيمه من خلال وزارة الداخلية والزراعة ويهدف إلى "الحفاظ على الأراضي والمياه العامة واستعادتها ، وتعزيز مرونة المجتمع ، وزيادة إعادة التحريج ، وزيادة عزل الكربون في القطاع الزراعي ، وحماية التنوع البيولوجي ، وتحسين الوصول إلى الترفيه ، والتصدي لتغير المناخ ". 

من أين أتت الفكرة؟

استلهم سلاح المناخ المدني من برنامج مشابه ابتكره الرئيس فرانكلين دي روزفلت أطلق عليه اسم فيلق الخدمة المدنية. تم إطلاقه كواحد من برامج الصفقة الجديدة المميزة خلال فترة الكساد الكبير ، وكان فيلق الحفظ المدني برنامجًا وطنيًا لإغاثة العمل العام وظف أكثر من ثلاثة ملايين عامل على مدى عقد من الزمان في بناء وإصلاح وصيانة غابات الولايات المتحدة والمتنزهات والموارد الطبيعية . 

نجح البرنامج في انتشال الملايين من الرجال من البطالة وتحسين البنية التحتية الطبيعية لأمتنا بشكل كبير خلال فترات الكساد الكبير ، لكن كان لفيلق الحفظ المدني عيوبًا عميقة ، بما في ذلك الممارسات العنصرية والإقصائية الجنسية المتمثلة في توظيف الرجال البيض فقط وممارساته غير الرشيدة. التنمية على الأراضي الأمريكية الأصلية المسروقة. لهذا السبب تنجح هذه المرة ، يجب أن يكون فيلق المناخ المدني الحديث متجذرًا بعمق في الإنصاف والمساواة وأن يكون شجاعًا بما يكفي لمواجهة حجم أزمات عصرنا. لدينا فرصة للقتال من أجل فيلق مناخي مدني متجذر بعمق في العدالة والإنصاف ، والذي يمكن أن يعطي الأولوية لمنح وظائف جيدة للمجتمعات التي تضررت بشكل غير متناسب من أزمة المناخ والعنصرية المنهجية واقتصادنا المنهار.

خلال دورة الحملة الرئاسية لعام 2020 ، قادت Sunrise فكرة إنشاء فيلق مدني للمناخ، واحد لإعطاء الناس وظائف جيدة وكريمة لمكافحة تغير المناخ وخدمة الجمهور. على وجه التحديد ، دفع فارشيني إلى فريق عمل ساندرز بايدن ليكون في خطة بايدن لإعادة البناء بشكل أفضل وأطلقت Sunrise حملات رقمية حول الفكرة. منذ ذلك الحين ، تم وضعه في طليعة السياسة من قبل كل من الرئيس بايدن وأبطال المناخ في الكونجرس.

الوضع الحالي لـ CCC

في يناير تأسس فيلق المناخ المدني كجزء من الأوامر التنفيذية للرئيس بايدن بشأن المناخ، ولكن لم يكن لديها تمويل لجعلها حقيقة واقعة. ثم في مارس ، طلب بايدن من الكونجرس تقديم 10 مليارات دولار على مدى 10 سنوات لتمويل البرنامج كجزء من ما يقرب من 3 تريليون دولار مشروع قانون البنية التحتية للوظائف الأمريكية(AJP). الآن AJP يتجه إلى الكونجرس، حيث سيتم التفاوض على برامج مثل CCC ووضعها في نهاية المطاف في حزمة بنية تحتية ضخمة سيصوت عليها الكونجرس وسيقوم بايدن بالتوقيع على قانون ، على الأرجح بحلول أغسطس أو سبتمبر.

في الوقت الحالي ، هناك عدد قليل من مقترحات هيئة المناخ المدني المطروحة حول العاصمة واشنطن. إن مهمة حركتنا هي التأكد من أن النسخة الأكثر طموحًا من CCC المتجذرة في العدالة تجعلها في حزمة البنية التحتية النهائية ، وأن هذه الحزمة تم توقيعها لتصبح قانونًا.


أين بايدن؟

حتى الآن ، كان بايدن غامضًا جدًا بشأن تفاصيل نسخته الخاصة بفيلق المناخ المدني ، بخلاف هذا البيان: "هذا الاستثمار البالغ 10 مليارات دولار سيضع جيلًا جديدًا ومتنوعًا من الأمريكيين للعمل على الحفاظ على أراضينا ومياهنا العامة ، وتعزيز المجتمع المرونة ، وتعزيز العدالة البيئية من خلال فيلق مناخي مدني جديد ، كل ذلك مع وضع وظائف نقابية ذات رواتب جيدة في متناول المزيد من الأمريكيين ". 

في حين أن هذا يبدو جيدًا ، إلا أن الاقتصاديين البيئيين وصانعي السياسات توافق أن هذا المبلغ من التمويل لا يقترب مما نحتاجه لمعالجة الأزمة. وظفت شركة Roosevelt's CCC الأصلية حوالي 300,000 شاب أمريكي سنويًا في وقت كان فيه عدد سكان الولايات المتحدة حوالي 40 ٪ مما هو عليه الآن. ستستثمر CCC التي اقترحها بايدن 10 مليارات دولار على مدى عقد ، أي ما يعادل حوالي 10 إلى 20,000 ألف وظيفة في السنة.

ما هو CCC الذي نحتاجه؟

أدخل السناتور إد ماركي. في 4/20 ، طرح السناتور إد ماركي اقتراحًا لفيلق المناخ المدني الذي يحتاجه جيلنا وبلدنا. تدعو خطته إلى توظيف مجموعة عادلة ومتنوعة من 1.5 مليون أمريكي في 5 سنوات لاستكمال الطاقة النظيفة ، والمرونة المناخية ، والمعالجة البيئية ، والحفظ ، ومشاريع البنية التحتية المستدامة ، مع توفير التعليم والتدريب والمسارات المهنية في الوظائف الجيدة ، وخاصة الوظائف النقابية الجيدة. 

من شأن هيئة المناخ المدنية المقترحة في مشروع قانون إد ماركي أن تمنح الملايين من الناس وظائف جيدة لمكافحة تغير المناخ وتحويل مجتمعنا. إذا تم تمريره إلى قانون ، فسيشير إلى بداية عقد الصفقة الخضراء الجديدة، وافتح الباب لبرامج توظيف أفضل وأكبر في المستقبل.

ماذا سيفعل فيلق مناخي مدني قوي؟

سيفعل فيلق المناخ المدني أعط وظائف جيدة لملايين الناس الذين هم عاطلون عن العمل أو عاطلون عن العمل ويعانون من آثار جائحة عالمي وركود اقتصادي حاد ، ويعملون في شراكة مع النقابات وأرباب العمل لمنحهم طريقًا إلى وظائف مستقرة وذات مغزى على المدى الطويل. تواجه بلادنا العديد من الأزمات ، والبطالة التاريخية وعدم المساواة الاقتصادية ، والعنف باستخدام الأسلحة النارية ، والقتل المتكرر للسود والبُر من قبل الشرطة ، وقمع الدولة للمتظاهرين ، وأزمة مناخية تلوح في الأفق. مع وجود الكثير من العمل الذي يتعين القيام به ، لا يوجد سبب يجعل أي شخص يريد وظيفة في أغنى دولة في العالم عاطلاً عن العمل أو عاطلاً عن العمل جزئيًا أو يعمل في وظيفة بدون أجر معيشي أو مزايا أو الحق في الانضمام إلى نقابة. 

نحن بحاجة إلى ملايين الأشخاص الذين يقومون بالعمل الجيد لمعالجة هذه الأزمات ، و نحن بحاجة إلى إجبار الحكومة الفيدرالية على وضع مقترحات مثل CCC في القانون على النطاق اللازم. تخيل عالماً حيث يمكن لملايين الأشخاص ، خريجي المدارس الثانوية الجدد ومتوسطي العمر على حدٍ سواء ، العمل في مشاريع تحمي المجتمعات من ارتفاع مستوى سطح البحر ، ورعاية المسنين ، وتوزيع المنتجات الطازجة في الصحاري الغذائية ، واستعادة الأراضي الرطبة ، وإعادة البناء بعد المناخ. الكوارث ، أثناء الحصول على أجر معيشي ، والحصول على الرعاية الصحية ، والحصول على تدريب لمواصلة حياتهم المهنية ، بدلاً من العمل في وظيفة سيئة في أمازون ، مما يجعل جيف بيزوس أكثر ثراءً؟

ما الذي يمكن أن تبدو عليه وظيفة CCC؟

ستشمل هذه الوظائف المزيد من المهن التقليدية في مجال المناخ ، ولكن يجب أن تشمل أيضًا الوظائف التي تساعد المجتمعات على أن تصبح قوية وأكثر مرونة. قد تكون مهنتك في CCC هي رعاية كبار السن ، أو إنشاء رسومات للمساعدة في تعزيز سياسات المناخ في بلدتك أو مدينتك ، أو تعليم المجتمع والأطفال ، أو تنظيم برامج غذائية محلية ، أو بناء أنظمة مجتمعية جديدة للحد من انبعاثات الكربون والتلوث في مجتمعك. 

نريد من الحكومة أن تستثمر في أعمال المساعدة المتبادلة التي تحافظ على استمرارية المجتمع أثناء الوباء وتوسع نطاقه. مع وظائف Green New Deal ، يمكنك بناء صداقات مع المزارعين المحليين الذين يزودون فطائر البرجر. تعني الديمقراطية في مكان العمل أنه يمكن للجميع تقديم مشروعات لتحسين مهاراتهم من 9 إلى 5. باختيار ألا تكون روبوتًا لتحقيق أقصى قدر من الأرباح ، يمكنك تقوية مجتمعك. هذا التحول الفلسفي البسيط يمكن أن تجعل جميع الوظائف "خضراء" - غير استخراجية ، زرع شيء جميل لشفاطك والأجيال القادمة. إذا جعلت حكومتنا وظائف Green New Deal ذات رواتب جيدة وذات مغزى قدر الإمكان ، فيمكننا رفع مستوى جميع الوظائف.

مهما كانت مهنتك التي تتطلبها خطة Markey:

  • راتب ومزايا جيدة: تعويض لا يقل عن 15 دولارًا في الساعة ، وتغطية رعاية صحية كاملة ، وخدمات دعم حرجة مثل النقل والإسكان ورعاية الأطفال. 
  • التمويل التربوي: منح تعليمية كاملة وتمكينية بقيمة 25,000 دولار لكل سنة من الخدمة ، تصل إلى 50,000 دولار ، مؤهلة لمزيد من التعليم في أي مستوى أو لسداد ديون الطلاب.
  • فرص وظيفية طويلة الأمد: سيتم تزويد جميع أعضاء CCC بالوظيفة والمسار الوظيفي أثناء خدمتهم من خلال التعليم والتدريب المهني والشراكة مع النقابات وأرباب العمل
  • التوظيف والاستثمار العادل: ضمان حصول مجتمعات الإصحاح البيئي على فوائد لا تقل عن 50٪ من مشاريع CCC و Partner Corps ، و 50٪ من أعضاء الهيئة يتم تجنيدهم من هذه المجتمعات نفسها ، مع عدم وجود حد للعمر للمشاركة في 50٪ على الأقل من Partner Corps. 

كيف يمكننا الفوز بفيلق مناخي مدني

بأكثر من طريقة ، كانت السنوات الأربع الماضية من عمل حركتنا تقود إلى هذه اللحظة. يمكننا دعم أبطال الصفقة الخضراء الجديدة في الكونجرس وإجبار الحكومة الفيدرالية على سن برنامج يوفر ملايين الوظائف الجيدة لمكافحة تغير المناخ. 

نريد أن نرى ما تم وضعه في مشروع قانون ماركي الذي تم توقيعه ليصبح قانونًا. تتمثل الخطوة الأولى في هذه العملية في تمرير CCC كجزء من حزمة البنية التحتية الأكبر لبايدن، لذلك من أولوياتنا التأكد من تضمين CCC في تلك الحزمة وأن الحزمة تمر في النهاية.

بدلاً من تمرير كل مشروع قانون مختلف على حدة ، فإن الديمقراطيين في الكونجرس هم كذلك من المحتمل أن يستخدم عملية تسمى "تسوية الميزانية" لتمرير أولوياتهم إلى قانون. باستخدام المصالحة ، يمكنهم تضمين العديد من التشريعات في مشروع قانون واحد كبير سيمر (أو يفشل) من خلال تصويت واحد رأسا على عقب. يعتقد الديمقراطيون أن هذا سيمنحهم فرصة أفضل لتمرير العديد من أولوياتهم السياسية نظرًا لأنهم مدرجون في حزمة بنية تحتية كبيرة واحدة ، وليس في مشاريع قوانين قائمة بذاتها ، وسيحتاجون إلى الحصول على 50 وليس 60 صوتًا ليصبحوا قانونًا. 

حقيقة أن ممر البنية التحتية من المرجح أن يمر عبر المصالحة يعني أيضًا أن القيادة الديمقراطية - بايدن ، وتشاك شومر ، ونانسي بيلوسي - سيكون لها رأي كبير في ما تم تضمينه في حزمة البنية التحتية النهائية ، و سيكون بناء دعم عالٍ في الجمهور لـ CCC الذي نريده (نسخة Markey) هو أفضل طريقة للضغط عليهم - خاصةً بايدن. لأنه من غير المحتمل أن نفوز بالعديد من التشريعات التقدمية الفردية في الوقت الحالي خارج عملية المصالحة ، فإن وجهة نظرنا هي ذلك إذا تمكنا من إعادة تشكيل قانون بايدن وتمريره من خلال الدعم العام ، فيمكننا بناء قوة وتمويل وتركيز CCC لإنشاء البرنامج الذي طرحه السناتور ماركي في مشروع القانون الخاص به ، وهو CCC الذي نستحقه. 

تحتاج حركتنا إلى العمل معًا لبناء دعم واسع في مجتمعاتنا لنسخة Markey الخاصة بفيلق المناخ المدني ، والضغط على أعضاء الكونجرس لدينا من خلال الإجراءات لتوقيع تعهد الوظائف الجيدة للجميع والاستعداد للتعبئة لضمان الخطوة الأولى من مشروع قانون CCC يمر بالفعل في وقت لاحق في الصيف.

ما يمكننا القيام به الآن للحصول على CCC

تقف الدولة على مفترق طرق بين إيماءات بايدن الرمزية عند التغيير والعمل الجريء الذي نحتاجه لمعالجة الأزمة. نحن بحاجة ، نحن نستحق أكثر بكثير مما هو مطروح حاليًا على الطاولة. فيما يلي بعض الفرص للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات والمشاركة بشكل أكبر:

fbpx
Skip to content
Theory Of Change

The Civilian Climate Corps (CCC), Explained

CCC Explained

What is the Civilian Climate Corps?

The Civilian Climate Corps is a visionary policy that would create a government jobs program putting a new generation of Americans to work combatting the climate crisis

More specifically, it’s a program organized through the Department of the Interior and Agriculture and aims to “conserve and restore public lands and waters, bolster community resilience, increase reforestation, increase carbon sequestration in the agricultural sector, protect biodiversity, improve access to recreation, and address the changing climate.” 

Where does the idea come from?

The Civilian Climate Corps was inspired by a similar program created by President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s called the Civilian Conservation Corps. Launched as one of his signature New Deal programs during the Great Depression, the Civilian Conservation Corps was a national public work relief program that employed over three million workers over a decade building, repairing, and conserving the United States forests, parks, and natural resources. 

The program succeeded in pulling millions of men out of unemployment and drastically improved our nation’s natural infrastructure during the lows of the Great Depression, but the Civilian Conservation Corps had deep flaws, including exclusionary racist and sexist practices of hiring almost solely white men and its nonconsensual development on stolen Native American land. That’s why to succeed this time around, the modern Civilian Climate Corps must be deeply rooted in equity and equality and be brave enough to face the scale of the crises of our time. We have an opportunity to fight for a Civilian Climate Corps deeply rooted in justice and equity, that could prioritize giving good jobs to communities who have been disproportionately harmed by the climate crisis, systemic racism and our broken economy.

During the 2020 presidential campaign cycle, Sunrise spearheaded the idea of a new Civilian Climate Corps, one to give people good, dignified jobs combating climate change and serving the public. Specifically, Varshini pushed for it on the Sanders-Biden task force to be in Biden’s Build Back Better plan and Sunrise launched digital campaigns around the idea. Since then, it has been brought to the forefront of politics by both President Biden and climate champions in Congress.

The Current Status of the CCC

In January, the Civilian Climate Corps was established as part of President Biden’s executive orders on climate, but had no funding to make it a reality. Then in March, Biden asked Congress to provide $10 billion over 10 years to fund the program as part of his nearly $3 trillion American Jobs Infrastructure bill(AJP). Now the AJP is headed to Congress, where programs like the CCC will be negotiated on and ultimately put into a massive infrastructure package that Congress will vote on and Biden will sign into law, likely by August or September.

Right now, there are a handful of Civilian Climate Corps proposals floating around Washington DC. It’s our movement’s job to make sure the most ambitious version of a CCC that’s rooted in justice makes it into the final infrastructure package, and that that package is signed into law.


Where’s Biden at?

So far, Biden has been pretty vague about the details for his version of the Civilian Climate Corps , other than this statement: “This $10 billion investment will put a new, diverse generation of Americans to work conserving our public lands and waters, bolstering community resilience, and advancing environmental justice through a new Civilian Climate Corps, all while placing good-paying union jobs within reach for more Americans.” 

While this sounds good, environmental economists and policy makers agree that this amount of funding doesn’t get close to what we need to address the crisis. Roosevelt’s original CCC employed around 300,000 young Americans per year at a time when the US population was ~40% what it is now. Biden’s proposed CCC would invest $10 billion over a decade, equating to about 10-20,000 jobs a year.

What is the CCC We Need?

Enter Senator Ed Markey. On 4/20, Senator Ed Markey rolled out a proposal for the Civilian Climate Corps  our generation and country needs. His plan calls for employing an equitable and diverse group of 1.5 million Americans in 5 years to complete clean energy, climate resilience, environmental remediation, conservation, and sustainable infrastructure projects, while providing education, training, and career pathways in good jobs, and especially good union jobs. 

The Civilian Climate Corps proposed in Ed Markey’s bill would give millions of people good jobs fighting climate change and transforming our society. If passed into law, it would signify the beginning of the decade of the Green New Deal, and open the door for better, bigger employment programs down the road.

What would a robust Civilian Climate Corps do?

The Civilian Climate Corps  would give good jobs to the millions of people who are out of work or underemployed and suffering from the effects of a global pandemic and severe economic recession, and work in partnership with unions and employers to give them a pathway to stable, meaningful careers for the long haul. Our country is facing so many crises, historic joblessness and economic inequality, gun violence, frequent murders of Black and brown people by the police, state repression of protestors and a climate crisis that looms over it all. With so much work to do, there’s no reason anyone who wants a job in the richest country in the world should be unemployed, underemployed, or working a job without a living wage, benefits, or the right to join a union. 

We need millions of people doing the good work of addressing these crises, and we need to force the federal government to put proposals like the CCC into law at the necessary scale. Imagine a world where millions of people, recent high school graduates and middle-aged alike, could work on projects protecting communities from sea-level rise,  taking care of the elderly, distributing fresh produce in food deserts, restoring wetlands, and rebuilding after climate disasters, while getting paid a living wage, having access to healthcare, and getting apprenticed to continue their career, instead of working a shitty job at Amazon making Jeff Bezos richer?

What Could A CCC Job look Like?

These jobs will include more traditional climate careers, but should also include jobs that help communities become strong and more resilient. Your CCC career could be caring for the elderly, creating graphics to help promote climate policies in your town or city, community and child education, organizing localized food programs, or building out new community systems to limit carbon emissions and pollution in your community. 

We want the government to invest in, and scale, the mutual aid work that keeps society running during the pandemic. With Green New Deal jobs, you can build friendships with the local farmers who supply the burger patties. Democracy in the workplace means everyone can pitch projects to improve their 9 to 5. By choosing not to be a robot to maximize profit, you can strengthen your community. That simple philosophical shift can make all jobs “Green” – non-extractive, planting something beautiful for your hood and future generations. If our government makes Green New Deal jobs as good-paying and meaningful as possible, we can raise the bar for all employment.

Whatever your career is the Markey plan is calling for:

  • Good salary and benefits: Compensation of at least $15 per hour, full health care coverage, and critical support services such as transportation, housing, and childcare. 
  • Educational Funding: Complete and enabling educational grants of $25,000 per year of service, up to $50,000, eligible for further education at any level or to pay down student debt.
  • Long Term Career Opportunities: All CCC members will be provided with a job and career pathway during their service through education,vocational training, and partnership with unions and employers
  • Equitable recruitment and investment: ensuring that environmental justice communities receive benefits of at least 50% of CCC and Partner Corps projects, and 50% of corpsmembers are be recruited from these same communities, with no age limit for participation in at least 50% of Partner Corps. 

How we can win a Civilian Climate Corps

In more ways than one, the past four years of our movement’s work have been leading up to this moment. We can back up our Green New Deal champions in Congress and force the federal government to enact a program creating millions of good jobs fighting climate change. 

We want to see what was laid out in Markey’s bill signed into law. The first step in that process is by getting the CCC passed as part of Biden’s larger infrastructure package, so it’s our priority to make sure the CCC is included in that package and that the package ultimately passes.

Instead of passing each different bill individually, the Democrats in Congress are likely going to use a process called “budget reconciliation to pass their priorities into law. Using reconciliation, they can include many pieces of legislation into one big bill that will pass (or fail) through a single up-down vote. Dems think this will give them a better shot at passing many of their political priorities since they are included in one big infrastructure package, not stand-alone bills, and would need to get 50 not 60 votes to become law. 

The fact that the infrastructure passage is likely to pass through reconciliation also means that Democratic leadership – Biden, Chuck Schumer and Nancy Pelosi – will have a lot of say over what is included in the final infrastructure package, and building loud support in the public for the CCC we want (Markey’s version) is going to be the best way to pressure them – especially Biden. Because it’s unlikely that we will win many individual pieces of progressive legislation right now outside of the reconciliation process, our take is that if we can reshape and pass Biden’s bill through public support we can build up the power, funding, and focus of the CCC to create the program Senator Markey put forward in his bill, which is the CCC we deserve. 

Our movement needs to work together to build broad support in our communities for Markey’s version of the Civilian Climate Corps, pressure our Members of Congress through actions  to sign the Good Jobs for All pledge and prepare to mobilize to ensure the first step of the CCC bill actually passes later in the summer.

What We Can Do Now To Get the CCC

The country stands at a crossroads between Biden’s symbolic gestures at change and the bold action we need to address the crisis. We need, we deserve so much more than is currently on the table. Here are some opportunities to get more information and get more involved: