fbpx
跳到内容
变革理论

如果你关心绿色新政,我们需要你加入黑人生活运动

一名日出活动人士对着扩音器说话,而其他抗议者则站在后面,举着标语。

如果你关心绿色新政,我们需要你加入黑人生活运动

在过去的三周里,数百万人站起来要求我们的国家不辜负我们的价值观,并在这个国家看到黑人的人性。 Sunrise 已将支持这些起义列为重中之重。 当我们这样做时,有人问我为什么在气候变化仍然威胁着我们的生活方式的情况下,我们要如此集中精力和关注这一点。

像全国各地的数百万人一样,在这一刻,我感受到了一种深刻的个人呼吁。 我想与您分享为什么我认为我们的运动现在必须参加黑人生活运动。

我们必须将争取种族正义和气候行动的斗争视为同一斗争的两条战线。 如果我们的社会重视黑人、棕色人和原住民的生活,那么我们一开始就不会陷入气候变化的混乱之中。 如果黑人的生命很重要,十年前我们就会有一个绿色新政,当时卡特里娜飓风造成 1833 人死亡,并在新奥尔良以黑人为主的社区造成数万人无家可归。 如果黑人的生命很重要,那么在密歇根州弗林特等城市的黑人社区正在死亡并被污染的水污染的情况下,我们会投资于我们的基础设施。 当北达科他州俾斯麦的中产阶级白人社区反对达科他州输油管道时,它被改道穿过原住民土地。 如果黑人生命运动获胜,它也会推进我们的集体使命,即确保我们制定一项绿色新政,其中包括黑人和棕色人种以及其他边缘化社区并赋予他们权力。

像我们现在所经历的那样的历史性时刻有能力从根本上改变我们整个社会和一代人的政治,无论是好是坏。

我记得在 2015 年,我坐在运动策略培训机构 Momentum 组织的培训中,他们谈到变化通常是在断断续续的情况下非常缓慢地发生,然后突然之间发生了一些大事,很多事情都可以改变一次全部。 这些“旋风时刻”是组织和政治规则被完全颠覆的时候。 人们对采取创纪录的行动感到感动,而政客们则要赶上时代。 在这样的时刻,有难以置信的机会改变未来几十年在政治上被视为可能的事情。 这就是 Occupy、Standing Rock 和 March for our Lives 运动中发生的事情。

在过去的几周里,我们一直生活在这样的时刻之一。 在两周内,公众对“黑人生命运动”的支持增加了 28%,几乎与过去两年中的所有支持一样多。

图表显示了对 Black Lives Matter 的支持令人难以置信的增长。 来源: “纽约时报”

在过去的一个月里,黑人组织者让我们的国家进入了一个以强有力的方式来计算我们重视什么和谁的时刻。 他们促使每个人重新审视我们花费或资源的方式和地点:为我们的社区带来痛苦和惩罚? 还是投资于黑人的生命和尊严?

必须挑战种族主义和种族分歧,以赢得我们需要的那种公正和公平的绿色新政。

在美国历史上,精英们一直在利用种族来分裂劳动人民。 他们声称我们不能有强大的社会计划,因为“福利女王”会利用,人们失业的原因是因为移民,食品券和住房援助等政府计划正在浪费钱给懒惰的人或不值得。 这些毫不掩饰的种族绰号掩盖了真相:精英们想要增加自己的财富,而不是为这些项目提供资金,他们正在利用种族主义作为实现这一目标的工具 只要当权者能够利用种族主义作为一种方式污名化政府为公共利益而采取的行动,只要我们的政府认为我们的黑人社区是可支配的和不值得的,我们就会努力争取对绿色新政的支持。

让我们明确一点:失控的气候变化的根源和我们的暴力警务系统都来自我们国家的同一个病态观念,即有些人的生命比其他人的生命更重要,有些人可以随意处置,有些人可以为了利益而牺牲,他人的安慰。 我们拒绝批发这个概念。 减少对警察的资助并颁布绿色新政意味着停止扼杀我们社区的因素并投资于使他们能够繁荣发展的因素:良好的工作、医疗保健、教育、负担得起的住房、清洁的水和空气。

随着我们朝着这一愿景迈进,我们需要作为一项运动正面应对种族不公正。 由于我们生活在一个充满种族偏见和不公正的社会,如果大型社会项目不积极促进种族正义,它们就会加剧现有的不平等。 最初的新政清楚地说明了这一点。 它的住房计划允许白人建立代际财富,同时将黑人和其他少数民族拒之门外。 我坚定地致力于确保我们赢得不会犯同样错误的绿色新政,但只有我们也解决社会和政治中的种族主义问题,才有可能通过国会获得类似的东西。 我们需要让国会通过不把种族正义放在首位的重大立法在道德和政治上都是不可想象的。

这对我们来说也是一个重要的机会,可以建立我们需要改变常识并赢得绿色新政等重大变革的运动。

Sunrise 的原则之一是“我们支持变革运动”。 它说:“阻止气候变化需要在各级政府中赢得并掌握权力。 这是一项艰巨的工作,我们无法单独完成。”

归根结底,赢得绿色新政是要改变常识:要建立一个政府为公共利益负责、努力保障好工作、重视所有人的价值和尊严的社会。 我们还没到。 为了建立这种常识并赢得绿色新政,我们需要一场运动,他们扮演各自的角色并推进他们的问题,同时在社会的共同愿景中团结起来,并准备在其他运动出现时团结起来全员参与的时刻。

当绿色新政运动达到我们的“旋风时刻”时,我们希望其他人准备好与我们一起采取行动,因此我们需要自己模拟这种行为。 这对我们来说尤其重要,因为主流环境运动的悠久历史不优先考虑经济和种族正义,这可以理解地导致种族正义运动对整个气候运动的怀疑。

在过去的几周里,我们已经看到了这种运动的力量和潜力。 几周前,特朗普及其背后的势力很有可能会获胜,而不是谈论削减警察资金和投资黑人社区,而是谈论抢劫和“暴力抗议”,这将导致设置特朗普以诉诸恐惧并以秩序的名义做谁知道。 那没有发生,因为数百万人关闭了队伍并表示没有办法,但这需要在这个关键时刻团结在黑人生命运动背后的 Sunrise 之类的运动。

这个周末将是历史性的,也许是我国历史上最大的种族正义行动浪潮。 如果您还没有加入的计划,请查找您附近的活动并制定计划。

当我们本周末采取行动时,我们必须记住这不仅仅是一个周末或一个月。 我们需要将争取种族正义的斗争看作是为了我们的生命以及我们的朋友、家人和邻居的生命而斗争。

我想说清楚——这并不容易或简单。 争取解放是一个需要数年时间的过程,在这个过程中,我们都将被要求做最好的自己,犯错和冒险,试验和学习。 在 Sunrise,如果没有许多黑人、棕色人和土著志愿者和工作人员的领导和勇气,我们不可能到达这个地方,他们不断呼吁我们的运动让自己走上集体解放的道路,并推动我们变得更好。 我也非常感谢我们的姐妹运动,特别是梦想捍卫者、团结我们梦想和黑人生活运动。 在过去的几周里,我们几个月来共同建立的关系使我们能够以深刻和不断发展的方式出现。

我想给你留下一句话,我最近一直在反思。 来自乔治·戈尔的采访 和我的朋友 Maurice Mitchell 在一起,他是工作家庭党的全国主任,也是黑人生命运动的领导人。 当被问及他此刻对非黑人的信息是什么时,他说:

“我告诉非黑人的是,你对可能出错的焦虑与我的解放无关,根本没有。 因此,如果您坐以待毙的原因是因为您害怕犯错,那么这确实是一种个人的、孤立的、以自我为中心的关注,而不是集体的公共社会变革关注。 你不想处理不适,也不想处理因出错而带来的羞耻感。 那与我无关,与我的自由或集体自由无关。 你需要亲自完成这项工作才能克服这个问题。 并理解人类的状况是脆弱的,它是有缺陷的,就你的本性而言,你会犯错,然后就去做,出去战斗。 现在这并不意味着你不是故意的。 有意为之,但要行动。” [26:50]

本着这种精神,我想分享我的三个意图:

  • 继续与我们的变革运动发展有意义的关系。 Sunrise 与黑人运动组织建立关系使我们能够承担责任并更有效地调配我们的资源。
  • 采取行动并愿意承担风险。 尊重和跟随黑人领袖,并采取主动,这样黑人领袖就不必在每一件事上都做领导。
  • 作为绿色新政斗争的一部分,个人和组织询问这一时刻如何从根本上呼吁日出在我们的种族和经济正义工作中发挥更大的领导作用。 进一步致力于我自己关于反黑人的学习,以及它如何通过阅读、一对一对话和预选会议在我的社区中出现。

fbpx
Skip to content
Sunrise activists demonstrate in front of Mitch McConnell's KY house, holding a large sign saying "Breonna Couldn't Sleep. Neither Should Mitch".
Theory Of Change

If you care about the Green New Deal, we need you to join the Movement for Black Lives

If you care about the Green New Deal, we need you to join the Movement for Black Lives

In the last three weeks, millions of people have risen up to demand our nation live up to our values and see the humanity of Black people in this country. Sunrise has made supporting these uprisings a top priority. As we’ve done that, I’ve been asked why this is something we are focusing so much energy and attention on while climate change still threatens our way of life.

Like so many millions of people around the country, I’ve felt a deep, personal calling to take action in this moment. I want to share with you why I believe it’s essential that our movement take part in the Movement for Black Lives right now.

We must see the fights for racial justice and climate action as two fronts of the same fight. If our society valued Black, Brown and Indigenous lives, we wouldn’t be in the mess we’re in with climate change in the first place. If Black Lives Mattered, we would have had a Green New Deal a decade ago when Katrina killed 1833 people and left tens of thousands more without homes in predominantly black neighborhoods in New Orleans. If Black lives mattered, we would have invested in our infrastructure when it was clear that Black communities were dying and being poisoned from polluted water in cities like Flint, Michigan. When the middle-class, white community of Bismarck, North Dakota objected to the Dakota Access Pipeline, it was rerouted through Indigenous lands. If the Movement for Black Lives wins, it also advances our collective mission of ensuring that we enact a Green New Deal that includes and empowers Black and Brown people and other marginalized communities.

Historic moments like the one we’re living through right now have the power to fundamentally change our entire society and politics for a generation, for better or worse.

I remember in 2015, I was sitting at a training organized by Momentum, a movement strategy training institute, and they talked about how change usually happens very slowly in fits and starts, and then all of a sudden something big happens and many things can change all at once. These “moments of the whirlwind” are when the rules of organizing and politics are totally upended. People feel moved to take action in record numbers and politicians run to catch up with the times. During moments like this, there is incredible opportunity to change what is seen as politically possible for decades to come. This is what happened with Occupy, at Standing Rock, and with the March for our Lives movement.

For the past few weeks, we’ve been living in one of those moments. In two weeks, public support for the Movement for Black Lives increased by 28%, almost as much as it had in all of the last two years.

Chart showing the incredible growth in support for Black Lives Matter. Source: New York Times

This past month, Black organizers have brought our country to a moment of reckoning with what and who we value in powerful ways. They’ve pushed everyone to reexamine how and where we spend or resources: toward pain and punishment for our communities? Or toward investing in Black life and dignity?

It is essential to challenge racism and racial divides to win the kind of just and equitable Green New Deal we need.

For all of American history, elites have used race to divide working people. They claim that we can’t have strong social programs because “welfare queens” will take advantage, that the reason people are losing their jobs is because of immigrants, that government programs like food stamps and housing assistance are wasting money on people who are lazy or undeserving. These thinly veiled racial epithets hide the truth: that elites want to grow their own wealth, not fund these programs, and they’re using racism as a tool to do that And as long as those in power are able to use racism as a way to stigmatize government action for the common good, as long as our government sees our Black communities as disposable and undeserving, we will struggle to build support for the Green New Deal.

And let’s be clear: the roots of runaway climate change and our violent policing system both come from the same sick notion in our country that some lives matter more than others, that some people are disposable, that some people can be sacrificed for the profit and comfort of others. We reject that notion wholesale. Defunding police and enacting a Green New Deal means stopping what kills our communities and investing in what allows them to thrive: good jobs, healthcare, education, affordable housing, clean water and air.

As we move towards that vision, we need to tackle racial injustice head on as a movement. Since we are living in a society stained by racial prejudice and injustice, if big social programs don’t actively promote racial justice, they exacerbate existing inequalities. The original New Deal made this painfully clear. Its housing programs allowed whites to build intergenerational wealth while locking out Blacks and other racial minorities. I’m deeply committed to making sure we win a Green New Deal that does not make the same mistakes, but it’s only going to be possible to get something like that through Congress if we also tackle racism writ-large in our society and politics. We need to make it morally and politically unthinkable for Congress to pass major legislation that doesn’t put racial justice at the forefront.

This is also a critical opportunity for us to build the movement of movements we need to change that common sense and win big changes like the Green New Deal.

One of Sunrise’s principles is “We stand with movements for change.” It says: “Stopping climate change requires winning and holding power at every level of government. This is a huge job and we can’t do it alone.”

At the end of the day, winning a Green New Deal is about changing the common sense: about building a society where the government is responsible for the common good, works to guarantee good jobs, and values the worth and dignity of all people. We’re not there yet. In order to build that common sense and win the Green New Deal, we need a movement of movements who are holding their respective roles and moving forward their issues, while being united in a shared vision of society and ready to come together when fellow movements have all-hands-on-deck moments.

When the movement for the Green New Deal has our “moment of the whirlwind,” we’ll want others to be ready to jump into action alongside us, so we need to model that behavior ourselves. That’s especially important for us because the long history of the mainstream environmental movement not prioritizing economic and racial justice has understandably led to skepticism toward the climate movement at-large from racial justice movements.

We’ve seen the power and potential of that movement of movements in the past few weeks. A few weeks ago, there was a real possibility that Trump and the forces behind him would prevail and, rather than talking about defunding the police and investing in Black communities, we’d be talking about looting and ‘violent protests,’ which would have set Trump up to appeal to fear and do who knows what in the name of order. That didn’t happen, because millions of people closed ranks and said no way, but that required movements like Sunrise rallying behind the Movement for Black Lives during this critical moment.

This weekend will be historic, perhaps the biggest wave of action for racial justice in our country’s history. If you don’t already have a plan to join, find an event near you and make a plan.

As we take action this weekend, we’ve got to remember that this isn’t just about one weekend or one month. We need to see and understand the fight for racial justice as the fight of and for our lives and the lives of our friends, families, and neighbors.

I want to be clear — this is not going to be easy or simple. Fighting for liberation is a process that will take years, a process where we will all be called upon to be our best selves, to make mistakes and take risks, to experiment and learn. At Sunrise, we could not have gotten to this place without the leadership and courage of many Black, Brown and Indigenous volunteers and staff, who constantly called upon our movement to set ourselves on the path to collective liberation and pushed us to be better. I also feel tremendously grateful to our sister movements, particularly Dream Defenders, United We Dream, and the Movement for Black Lives. Our months of relationship-building together have allowed us to show up in deep and evolving ways these past weeks.

I want to leave you with a quote I’ve been reflecting on a lot lately. It’s from George Goehl’s interview with my friend Maurice Mitchell, who’s the National Director of the Working Families Party and a leader with the Movement for Black Lives. When asked what his message was for non-Black people at this moment, he said:

“What I tell non-Black people is that your anxiety around possibly getting something wrong has nothing to do with my liberation, nothing at all. So if the reason you are sitting on your hands is because you are afraid of making mistakes, then that really is a personal, insular, self-centered concern, that isn’t a collective communal social change concern. You don’t want to deal with the discomfort, the shame that might come along with getting something wrong. That has nothing to do with me, it has nothing to do with my freedom or with collective freedom. You need to do the work personally to get over that. And understand that the human condition is frail and it is flawed and by your very nature, you will get things wrong and just engage that and go out and fight. Now that doesn’t mean you aren’t intentional. Be intentional, but ACT.” [26:50]

In that spirit, I want to share three intentions I have:

  • Continue to develop meaningful relationships with our movements for change. Sunrise having relationships with Black movement organizations allows us to show up in accountability and more effectively marshal our resources.
  • Act and be willing to take risks in doing so. Respect and follow Black leaders and also take initiative so that Black leaders don’t have to lead on every single thing.
  • Personally and organizationally interrogate how this moment has fundamentally called Sunrise into greater leadership in our racial and economic justice work as part of the fight for a Green New Deal. Commit further to my own learning around anti-blackness and how that shows up in my community through reading, 1:1 conversations, and caucuses.