fbpx
跳到内容
变革理论

Sunrise 如何在革命中赋予 100 年历史的战术新的生命

日出活动人士在米奇·麦康奈尔 (Mitch McConnell) 位于肯塔基州 (KY) 的房子前示威,举着一个大牌子,上面写着“布伦娜无法入睡。米奇也不应该”。

在六月十九日黎明的曙光中,一群勇敢的人站在肯塔基州米奇·麦康奈尔的家外面制造一些噪音。 压力很大。 出现在像米奇·麦康奈尔这样的大政治家的家门口不是开玩笑——当警察在波特兰这样的地方,当人们不喜欢他们所看到的东西时,他们会从街道上消失。 警车在这群人周围盘旋。 他们很紧张。

他们唱歌。 他们喊道。 他们举着牌子,坚忍不拔。 并且能量增长了。 汽车经过时按喇叭表示支持。 米奇自己的邻居走到外面加入他们。 她喊道:“这也是你的未来,米奇!”

在华盛顿特区,另一组人在午夜时分在议员安妮塔·邦兹家外拉响了扩音器。 他们对无法负担房屋的华盛顿居民提出了更好的要求。 邻居们在场边为他们加油。

这种情况再次发生在普罗维登斯,抗议者在市长家门前吹响了喇叭,并再次发生在乔治亚州,在州长家外安排了夜间街区派对。

那么为什么全国各地的年轻人都在打断当地政客的睡眠呢?

因为它有效。

信不信由你,这些策略已经有一个多世纪的历史了,其灵感来自于 1860 年代(内战前夕)支持废奴的大规模青年运动“大觉醒”,它将反废奴代表的生活变成了醒着的噩梦。

他们完全意识到奴隶制的道德罪恶,称奴隶制支持者是应受谴责的,并批评那些拖延废除奴隶制的领导人是意志薄弱和同谋。

他们确保那些设想一个废除奴隶制的世界的人的安全和民主权利,他们团结在支持废除奴隶制的发言人和政治家周围,充当捍卫者和民意调查观察者。

这些年轻人在一个和我们一样充满担忧和两极分化的世界中长大,他们采取了持续的激进行动来应对这一时刻。 我们这一代人一生都在几个亿万富翁最疯狂的梦想中度过。 当他们充实自己的口袋并提振股市时,我们却因未付账单、学生贷款和几天后到期的租金而失眠。 尽管他们拥有金钱所能买到的最好的医疗保健,但我们正在看着当地医院和医疗保健工作者随着全国死亡人数的增长而挣扎。 当他们聘请私人保安来“保护他们的安全”时,警察正在踢我们邻居的门并跪在他们的脖子上,然后在我们抗议时向我们发射催泪瓦斯。

我们出生在危机中,继承了一个失败的世界。 我们尝试签署请愿书。 我们尝试打电话和访问政府办公室。 通过这一切,大多数政客都忽视了我们。 现在,我们正在采取他们无法忽视的行动。 我们这一代人问得很好。

我们是清醒的。 而且,在接下来的一百天里,这种死亡经济的设计师也将如此。

这不仅仅是一场起义,这是一场令人难以忘怀的恶作剧。 我们将在午夜行军到他们家,让他们明白我们对他们在制造这场噩梦中的作用非常清醒。 当他们试图在我们被迫在餐厅用餐时——尽管有感染 COVID 的风险——因为我们的失业即将结束,我们不会为他们服务。 当他们不采取任何措施阻止联邦特工将我们从街头抓走时,当他们强迫我们在不安全的条件下返回学校时,当他们不采取任何措施来阻止我们的民主崩溃时,我们将从黄昏到黎明敲响他们的门,让他们听到我们的声音。 我们将使他们的生活成为醒着的噩梦,直到​​他们与我们站在一起或让位于人民的力量和我们对新世界的愿景。

最初的《Wide Awakes》是无情的。 他们看到了结果。 In the next half decade, Abraham Lincoln was elected, slavery was abolished, and the visionary Reconstruction began in the South.

像我们的前辈一样,我们将要求我们需要的未来,而不是我们的政治领导人认为他们可以谈判争取的未来。 我们这一代人将为真正的废除而奋斗,完成未完成的重建工作。

当这一百天结束时,在 3 月 XNUMX 日的选举日,任何不支持我们的政客都将被替换。

摄影:Michael Clevenger/Courier Journal

fbpx
Skip to content
Sunrise activists demonstrate in front of Mitch McConnell's KY house, holding a large sign saying "Breonna Couldn't Sleep. Neither Should Mitch".
Theory Of Change

How Sunrise is giving 100-year-old tactics new life in the revolution

In the early dawn light of Juneteenth, a group of brave people stood outside Mitch McConnell’s house in Kentucky to make some noise. Tension was high. It’s not a joke to show up on the doorstep of a major politician like Mitch McConnell — not when cops are disappearing people off the streets in places like Portland when they don’t like what they see. Cop cars circled around the group. They were nervous.

They sang. They shouted. They held up signs and stood stoic. And the energy grew. Cars honked in support as they passed. Mitch’s own neighbor walked outside to join them. She yelled, “It’s your future too, Mitch!”

Taking the cue in DC, another group rallied their bullhorns outside of Councilmember Anita Bonds’ house at midnight. They demanded better for DC residents who couldn’t afford to keep their homes. Neighbors cheered them on from the sidelines.

It happened again in Providence, as protesters blew air horns in front of the Mayor’s house, and again in Georgia, where a nighttime block party was scheduled outside the Governor’s house.

So why are young people around the country interrupting the sleep of local politicians?

Because it works.

Believe it or not, these tactics are over a century old, inspired by the Wide Awakes, a pro-abolition mass youth movement in the 1860s (right before the Civil War) who turned anti-abolition representatives’ lives into waking nightmares.

Wide awake to the moral iniquity of slavery, they called out slavery supporters as reprehensible and criticized leaders who had dragged their feet on abolition as weak-willed and complicit.

They ensured the safety and democratic rights of those who envisioned a world where slavery was abolished, rallying around pro-abolition speakers and politicians, serving as defenders and poll watchers.

These young people grew up in a world as similarly fraught and polarized as our own, and they took sustained radical action to match the moment. Our generation has lived our whole lives in the wildest dreams of a few billionaires. While they line their pockets and boost the stock market, we’re losing sleep over unpaid bills, student loans, and the rent due in a few days. While they have the best healthcare money can buy, we’re watching our local hospitals and healthcare workers struggle as the national body count grows. While they’re hiring private security to “keep them safe” from us, the police are kicking in our neighbors’ doors and kneeling on their necks, then tear gassing us when we protest.

We were born into crisis, inheriting a failing world. We tried signing petitions. We tried calling and visiting government offices. Through it all, most politicians ignored us. Now, we’re taking actions they cannot ignore. Our generation is done asking nicely.

We are Wide Awake. And, for the next hundred days, the architects of this death economy will be too.

This is not just an uprising, it’s a mothafucking haunting. We will march to their homes at midnight so they understand that we are wide awake to their role in crafting this nightmare. When they try to dine at restaurants we’re forced to work at — despite the risk of COVID — because our unemployment is ending, we will not serve them. When they do nothing to stop federal agents from snatching us off the streets, when they force us to go back to school in unsafe conditions, when they do nothing to stop our democracy from crumbling, we will bang on their doors from dusk until dawn and make them hear us. We will make their lives a waking nightmare until they stand with us or give way to the power of the people and the vision we have for a new world.

The original Wide Awakes were relentless. And they saw results. In the next half decade, Abraham Lincoln was elected, slavery was abolished, and the visionary Reconstruction began in the South.

Like our predecessors, we will demand the future we need, not the future our political leaders think they can negotiate for. Our generation will fight for true abolition and complete the unfinished work of the Reconstruction.

And when these hundred days are done, on election day November 3rd, any politician who isn’t with us will be replaced.

photo by: Michael Clevenger/Courier Journal