fbpx
跳到内容
变革理论

地球日:50 年,一切都没有改变

地球日:50 年,一切都没有改变

通过马蒂亚斯雷曼

五十年前,XNUMX 万美国人涌上街头庆祝第一个地球日,并发表了激进的声明: 我们只有一颗行星,我们不能让它不适合居住. 五十年前是针对气候变化采取渐进行动的时候。 从那以后,我们没有采取必要的行动。 现在,五十年后,随着时间的流逝,我们剩下的唯一选择就是采取激烈的行动。

卡莱布·瑙曼摄

这就是为什么日出运动与许多其他联盟伙伴一起围绕像最初的地球日这样的大规模动员来安排我们的一年。 两个月前,我们的大部分工作都是以这个目标为导向的。 但两个月后发生了很大的变化。

由于 COVID-19 大流行,任何形式的群众集会——庆祝的或激进的——都变得危险和不可能。 当我们看到对这种冠状病毒的反应——有些失败,有些成功——我们不禁看到了这场大流行造成的混乱与气候危机之间的直接相似之处。 我们从这次大流行中吸取的教训必须应用于我们避免气候变化的努力。

没有任何渐进的行动可以阻止大流行——气候变化也是如此。 适当的反应似乎总是不成比例的过度反应——直到它起作用为止。

XNUMX月初,只有少数确诊死亡和几百例确诊病例,人们还在说“不比流感更糟”。 那是关闭公共集会的时候——包括推迟选举,直到它们可以完全通过邮件举行。

相反,许多州无视安全建议并继续进行选举。 密歇根州、佛罗里达州和伊利诺伊州——这三个坚持继续选举的州——现在每个州的 COVID 病例数都与加利福尼亚州相似,加利福尼亚州的人口接近这三个州的总和。

对于这些州和其他州来说,封锁来得太晚了,无法防止大规模死亡。 结果:美国有超过 46,000 人死亡(并且还在增加)。

它可能会变得更糟。 当处于人类互动第一线的工人——比如我们工资过低和过度工作的护士和杂货店工人——开始生病时会发生什么? 如果他们继续工作,他们会感染更多的人。 没有他们,社会就会陷入停顿。 我们能在没有护士的情况下抗击大流行吗? 没有杂货店工人,我们能养活美国吗?

如果我们从一开始就以现在看到万人坑挖掘时的紧迫感做出反应,我们可能会挽救数千人的生命。

Ad Naka 摄

应对气候变化的斗争大同小异。 50 年前地球日的罢工以我们以前从未见过的方式引起了人们对我们星球的破坏的关注。 但我们什么也没做,从那以后,情况只会变得更糟。

我们已经开始达到非常危险的临界点。 冰川正在融化,使我们失去了冷却风模式的冰。 在过去的 12 个月里,加利福尼亚、亚马逊和澳大利亚发生了大火,摧毁了我们继续吸收二氧化碳和喷出氧气所需的树木。 由于无法吸收更多热量的变暖海洋,每个飓风季节都比上一个季节更糟。 不断升级的洪水和干旱引发饥荒,导致世界各地的人们丧生。

就像冠状病毒的传播一样,我们知道碳和甲烷具有延迟影响。 但是,这些气体需要几十年的时间才能显示出它们对我们的气候造成的破坏,而不是几天才会出现症状。 尽管确诊的冠状病毒病例数量只是冰山一角,但我们目前正在经历的气候混乱并未接近危机的全部程度。

我们必须为气候做政府未能对 COVID-19 做的事情:迅速、雄心勃勃地做出反应。 推行“谨慎”、“温和”方法的政客们根本没有面对现实。 节制的时间已经过去了。 我们需要全社会动员来避免气候变化。 我们需要人民救助来从我们现在面临的危机中恢复过来,然后是绿色新政以确保接下来的事情不会再次让我们屈服。

如果我们采取不同的方式,这个地球日 50 周年本可以庆祝人类的远见——我们如何看待全球变暖的到来,并采取必要的小措施让我们摆脱对石油和天然气的依赖。 相反,50 年来唯一改变的是赌注。

今天,在全国范围内,日出中心正在采取行动再次引起人们对这个问题的关注。 尽管他们计划参加大规模的面对面示威,但冠状病毒阻止了这些计划。 这些有弹性的枢纽并没有放弃,而是转向适合当下的行动。 今天有 50 多个中心组织了行动,包括 萨克拉门托, 南本德, 纽约市, 波士顿, 新奥尔良等等。

凯尔·施奈德摄

它不能也不会止步于此。 地球日的精神必须超越今天。 这就是为什么我们在上个月推出了一个大规模的培训计划: 日出学校.

我们这一代人了解阻止气候变化需要什么,这就是为什么我们支持唯一一位其提议的气候计划符合危机规模的候选人。

如果那个初级的结果教会了我们什么,那就是房间里的“大人”还在方向盘上睡着了。 我们这一代人需要进行大规模动员,才能说服负责人采取必要的果断行动,避免气候变化的最坏影响。 我们需要培训整整一代的组织者来实现它。

单击此处了解有关日出学校的更多信息,以及如何注册免费培训以成为阻止气候变化运动的领导者。

fbpx
Skip to content
Theory Of Change

Earth Day: 50 Years and Nothing’s Changed

Earth Day: 50 Years and Nothing’s Changed

by Mattias Lehman

Fifty years ago, twenty million Americans poured into the streets for the first Earth Day with a radical statement: we only have one planet and we can’t render it uninhabitable. Fifty years ago was the time for incremental action on climate change. We have not taken the necessary actions since. Now, fifty years later, with time running out, the only option we have left is drastic action.

photo by Caleb Nauman

That is why Sunrise Movement, along with many other coalition partners, structured our year around mass mobilizations like the original Earth Day. Two months ago, most of our work was oriented toward that goal. But a lot changed in two months.

Mass gatherings of any kind — celebratory or radical — have been rendered dangerous and impossible because of the COVID-19 pandemic. As we have watched the responses to this coronavirus — some failed and some successful — we cannot help but see the direct similarities between the chaos caused by this pandemic and the climate crisis. The lessons we learn from this pandemic must be applied to our efforts to avert climate change.

There are no incremental actions that will stop a pandemic — and the same goes for climate change. The appropriate reaction will always seem like a disproportionate overreaction — until it works.

At the beginning of March, with only a handful of confirmed deaths and a few hundred confirmed cases, people were still saying “it’s no worse than the flu.” That was the time to shut down public gatherings — including delaying elections until they could be held entirely by mail.

Instead, many states ignored safety suggestions and moved forward with elections. Michigan, Florida, and Illinois — the three states that insisted on continuing elections — each now have a similar number of COVID cases to California, a state with a population close to those three states combined.

For these and other states, lockdown came too late to prevent mass death. The result: over 46,000 deaths across the United States (and counting).

And it could get worse. What happens when workers on the front lines of human interaction — like our underpaid and overworked nurses and grocery workers — start getting sick? If they stay on the job, they infect countless more people. And without them, society grinds to a halt. Can we fight a pandemic without nurses? Can we feed America without grocery store workers?

If we’d reacted from the beginning with the urgency we feel now as we watch the digging of mass graves, we might have saved thousands of lives.

Photo by Ad Naka

The fight against climate change is much the same. The strikes on Earth Day 50 years ago brought attention to the destruction of our planet in a way we hadn’t seen before. But we did nothing and, since then, the situation has only gotten worse.

We’ve started to hit very dangerous tipping points. The glaciers are melting, depriving us of the ice which cooled wind patterns. Fires raged across California, the Amazon, and Australia in the last 12 months, destroying the very trees which we need to continue absorbing carbon dioxide and spewing out oxygen. Each hurricane season is worse than the last, thanks to warming seas which cannot absorb much more heat. Escalating floods and droughts trigger famines which kill people around the world.

Like the spread of coronavirus, we know that carbon and methane has a delayed impact. But instead of days to show symptoms, it takes decades for these gases to reveal the damage they’ve caused to our climate. Much as the number of confirmed coronavirus cases is only the tip of the iceberg, the climate chaos we are currently experiencing isn’t close to the full extent of the crisis.

We have to do for the climate what the government failed to do with COVID-19: react swiftly, and ambitiously. Politicians who are pushing a “measured,” “moderate” approach simply aren’t facing reality. The time for moderation has passed. We need a society-wide mobilization to avert climate change. We need a People’s Bailout to bounce back from the crisis we’re facing now, then a Green New Deal to ensure what comes next won’t bring us to our knees once again.

If we’d taken a different path, this 50-year anniversary of Earth Day could have been a celebration of humanity’s foresight — how we saw global warming coming and took the small, necessary steps to wean us off our addiction to oil and gas. Instead, the only thing that’s changed in 50 years is the stakes.

Today, across the nation, Sunrise hubs are taking action to bring attention to this problem once again. Although they’d planned to take part in mass, in-person demonstrations, coronavirus halted those plans. Instead of giving up, these resilient hubs pivoted to action appropriate for the moment. Over 50 hubs organized action today, including Sacramento, South Bend, NYC, Boston, New Orleans, and more.

photo by Kell Schneider

It can’t and won’t stop there. The spirit of Earth Day has to live beyond today. That’s why we’ve spent the last month rolling out a massive training program: Sunrise School.

Our generation understands what it will take to stop climate change, which is why we backed the only candidate whose proposed climate plan met the scale of the crisis.

If the results of that primary have taught us anything, it’s that the “adults” in the room are still asleep at the wheel. It’s going to take a mass mobilization by our generation to convince those in charge to take the decisive action necessary to avert the worst effects of climate change. We need to train a whole generation of organizers to make it happen.

Click here to learn more about Sunrise School and how you can register for free training to be a leader in the movement to stop climate change.