fbpx
跳到内容
变革理论

避免气候变化:新政的教训

我们有一些建议...

气候授权生成横幅

如果您和大多数年轻人一样,2020 年感觉就像一场彻底而彻底的灾难。 这一年太糟糕了,一队谋杀大黄蜂出现了,然后不知何故消失了,我们没有人注意到。

我们一年中的大部分时间都被 COVID-19 大流行所困。 被孤立地困在家中,试图避开病毒并保护我们所爱的人的安全。 被困在那些似乎并不关心他们是否每天都暴露我们的工作中,没有足够的保护,所有这些都是为了工资几乎无法支付我们的账单。 被困在似乎永远不会结束的一年中。

我们数以百万计的人失去了工作,艰难度日,不知道如何支付房租和杂货,更不用说我们的学生债务了。 一直以来,最富有的亿万富翁看到他们的财富飙升,揭示了我们经济中根深蒂固的不平等。 当我们的世界崩溃时,他们增加了他们的龙的宝库。

而本应出手相助的政府呢? 在一个无能和虚荣的总统无视科学、阻挠的参议院多数党领袖和害怕大胆的民主党众议院多数党之间,美国人民基本上没有得到支持。

更糟糕的是,有一种挥之不去的感觉,即这种混乱只是我们未来的预演。 COVID 使人们对贯穿我们社会基础的断层线产生了强烈的关注,从我们的卫生基础设施到我们的经济。 比以往任何时候都更清楚的是,我们没有为全社会的灾难做好准备——无论是在医疗上还是在社会上。

好像这还不够令人担忧,我们首先进入气候灾难,这有可能使这些基础大开。

就在这个夏天:

  • 在经历了十年的干旱之后,美国西部持续数周无法控制地燃烧,打破了火灾记录。
  • 创纪录的飓风袭击了墨西哥湾沿岸和大西洋各州。
  • 异常的洪水和一场被称为“陆地飓风”的风暴席卷了中西部。

而且,虽然随着疫苗的推出,大流行将开始消退,但气候变化只会变得更糟。 我们不能像我们刚刚做出的 COVID 响应那样让我们的气候变化响应失败.

黄色背景绿色文字“气候变化是人类有史以来面临的最大威胁。我们可以阻止它,但需要全社会动员。2020 年气候使命”

拜登的气候任务

进入 2021 年,拜登总统将继承这些灾难。 他将接管自大萧条以来最严重的经济衰退,并成为最后一位能够及时采取行动避免不可逆转的气候变化的总统。

拜登拥有独特的机会,可以同时应对这两场危机——在避免气候变化的同时重建我们的经济——采用相同的解决方案:绿色新政。

拜登竞选时承诺要创造数百万个高薪工作,并使我们走上到 2035 年实现无碳污染电力行业的道路。现在他只需要做到这一点。

这将是 大规模的工业动员 自上次我们的社会濒临崩溃以来,我们从未见过的类似事件:1930 年代。

我们可以从当时发生的事情中吸取教训。

特朗普和胡佛——两位失败的总统

1929 年,股市崩盘,导致经济直线下滑,四分之一的美国人失业。 随着大萧条的持续,时任总统赫伯特·胡佛拒绝寻求政府援助,他将其视为“施舍”,而是称赞美国“粗犷的个人主义”是出路。

他没有承认危机的严重性,而是直接说:“对美国的经济未来或企业实力缺乏信心都是愚蠢的。” 1930 年,胡佛说,“最糟糕的已经过去了”——文字 特朗普在四月回应. 历史将继续证明他们都错了。

与此同时,不可持续的农业做法彻底摧毁了横跨俄克拉荷马州、德克萨斯州、堪萨斯州、新墨西哥州和科罗拉多州的大平原。 干涸的表土被风吹走,形成巨大的“黑色暴风雪”,肆虐该地区,在某些情况下,还一直吹到东海岸。 这些风暴引发了呼吸系统疾病,包括咳嗽痉挛、呼吸急促、哮喘、支气管炎和流感。 许多人患上了矽肺,这是一种常见于地下矿工的疾病。 数百人死于所谓的“棕色瘟疫”,即粉尘性肺炎。

这是一场经济和生态灾难。 与此同时,法西斯主义在世界范围内兴起,最终引发了第二次世界大战。 听起来有点熟?

黄色背景和绿色文字写着:“当罗斯福在大萧条开始时上任时,他站在十字路口:继续照常营业,或者动员他可以支配的每一个政府权力来帮助工作的美国人。”

面对大规模失业和生态破坏,罗斯福需要重建经济、修复环境并重振对政府潜力的信任。 要做到这一点,他需要从大处着眼。 他著名的承诺是“美国人民的新政,”而这项工作从根本上重塑了美国社会。

新政是绿色新政

作为新政的一部分,罗斯福建立了一系列联邦就业计划,让美国人致力于升级或建设我们需要的基础设施——从建筑物和房屋,到道路和桥梁,再到水坝和电力。 这与我们今天需要的工作相同。

当我们今天考虑将我们的能源基础设施从化石燃料转向清洁能源以及彻底改造我们的其他基础设施以提高能源效率的艰巨任务时,我们可以从 FDR 制定的联邦计划中学到很多东西。

平民保护团 → 气候变化团

然后

黄底绿色风景图,上面写着贪婪的文字:“民保团聘请年轻人种树,应对森林火灾、飓风、洪水和干旱等自然灾害。”

Civilian Conservation Corps 是一项联邦就业计划,旨在让年轻人在公共土地上工作,照料森林和植树,并应对森林火灾和洪水等自然紧急情况。

现在

美国的每个地区都面临着不断升级的自然灾害(由气候变化提供):西海岸的火灾、中西部的洪水、墨西哥湾和东海岸的飓风。 重建后的平民保护团(可能更名为气候变化团)可以创造工作以预防或应对这些灾难,重建对罗纳德·里根诽谤的话的信任:“我来自政府,我是来帮忙的。”

当平民保护团成立时,头 300,000 个月就有 6 名年轻人报名参加。 他们中的许多人以前从未工作过,而 CCC 使他们摆脱了贫困。

为了应对大流行引起的衰退,我们可以为人们提供一份独特的工作:从气候变化中拯救世界。

在黄色背景上用装饰性边框握手的插图,上面写着绿色文字,“随着自然灾害不断升级,美国从一个海岸到另一个海岸,一个由气候动员办公室监督的重建的平民保护队,可以再次建立对以下文字的信任:'我来自政府,我是来帮忙的。’”

土木工程管理局/工程进度管理局

然后

土木工程管理局是一项短期联邦就业计划,雇用了 4.5 万工人从事建筑工作,以改善或建造建筑物和桥梁等基础设施。

它是如此受欢迎,以至于在其到期后,它被工程进度管理局所取代,该管理局将继续雇用 8.5 万名工人,他们建造了超过:

  • 650,000 英里的新建和改进道路
  • 10,000 栋建筑,包括房屋和学校
  • 16,000 英里的新水线

现在

与拥有类似财富的国家相比,美国的交通和基础设施始终名列最差之列。 我们的道路和桥梁正在摇摇欲坠,我们的公屋供应不足,而现有的单位又不健康和过时。 

住房和交通加起来占美国排放量的近 50%。 提高我们国家住房和道路的能源效率将大大有助于实现我们必要的气候变化目标。

农村电气化管理局→农村宽带管理局(7037)

然后

农村电气化管理局向美国农村地区提供电力。 在 REA 之前,只有不到 11% 的美国农场拥有电力。 到项目结束时,97% 的人做到了。 该计划也极具成本效益,每英里的成本不到 825 美元(私营电力公司声称每英里的成本为 1500-2000 美元)。

现在

农村地区基本上可以用上电。 但是当谈到 21 世纪的主要效用——互联网时,农村地区被抛在了后面。 新成立的农村宽带管理局可以将互联网接入扩展到服务不足的社区,同时在我们从化石燃料过渡到清洁能源的过程中升级我们的电网。

国家青年管理局(行政命令 7806)

然后

在第一夫人埃莉诺·罗斯福 (Eleanor Roosevelt) 的带领下,国家青年管理局是一项针对年轻人的工作和教育计划,它向大学生和其他年轻人支付兼职工作,包括工作培训。

现在

年轻人受到经济衰退的经济影响的打击最大,16-29 岁工人的失业率高达 30% 以上。 虽然几十年前大学相对负担得起,但此后成本激增。

拜登总统应该努力让所有希望上大学的人都能负担得起并最终免费上大学,并宽恕暴涨的学生贷款债务危机,以防止年轻一代的经济前景在未来几十年内陷入困境。

新政行政命令

虽然新政的大部分内容是与国会协调完成的,但罗斯福行使了美国前所未有的行政权力,此后也从未见过。

他的工作包括创纪录的 3728 条行政命令。 事实上,上面详述的每个计划至少部分是通过行政命令建立的,更不用说为监督新政而制定的许多规定和任命了。

单杠可视化比较总统之间的行政命令数量与文本阅读,“他的工作包括在他担任总统期间打破记录的 3728 条行政命令。” 酒吧读到:“富兰克林德拉诺罗斯福 3728,特朗普 194,奥巴马 276,布什 291,克林顿 364,HW 布什 166,里根 381,卡特 320,福特 169,尼克松 346,约翰逊 325,肯尼迪 214,艾森豪威尔 484”

在竞选过程中,乔拜登说他想成为罗斯福总统。

为了实现这一目标,他需要通过一项中央任务,将我们政府的工作联合起来,以应对我们这个时代的生存危机。

在数百万人失业的时候,我们需要一个具有权力和权限的联邦办公室,以在全社会范围内协调联邦机构,动员数百万人,使我们的经济脱碳。

黄色背景上的政府大楼插图,上面有文字“我们可以构建类似的经济动员,它应该直接来自总统办公室。这将需要他创建一个新的气候动员办公室,该办公室在整个内阁工作,以协调每个联邦部门对这个国家使命。

想象一下,如果内阁中的每个部门一起工作的可能性:

  • 住建部新建数百万套节能公房…
  • ……通过高效的道路和交通部长领导下的发达公共交通与周围地区相连……
  • ......所有这些都集成到一个由能源部监督的扩展的、完全绿色的电网中......
  • ......而每个项目的工人都受到积极的劳工部的保护。

通过我们整个行政部门的协同工作,我们可以应对气候变化的挑战并创造数百万个良好的就业机会。

黄色背景插图城市,文字为“我们需要对基础设施进行大规模投资,从新的绿色能源设施的建设和安装,到建筑物能源效率的升级,再到公共交通的复兴。”

新政哪里出了问题

乔拜登也应该从罗斯福的错误中吸取教训。

为了选举支持,罗斯福与种族主义的南方民主党妥协,无视或在某些情况下加剧了种族隔离。 这不可能发生在今天。 拜登必须反其道而行之,首先和大部分投资于处于环境不公正前沿的社区。

这需要有合适的人坐在桌子旁。 拜登的政府不能被企业利益所支配; 它需要充满为劳动人民和正义而战的历史的组织者。

拜登必须宣布气候紧急情况

1933 年,罗斯福援引《国家紧急情况法》来应对大萧条。

拜登应该效仿。

本周末,拜登说:“就像我们需要对 COVID-19 采取统一的全国应对措施一样,我们也需要对气候变化采取统一的全国应对措施。 我们需要像在任何国家紧急情况下一样,以紧迫的方式迎接这一时刻。

我们同意。 首先,他应该宣布气候危机为国家紧急状态,援引国家能源局(就像罗斯福一样)和国防生产法。 这不是政治; 这是现实。 我们正处于危机之中,紧急警报已经响了一段时间。 是时候表现得像它了。

如果您一直在关注有关 COVID 的新闻,您就会知道——在持续的压力之后—— 特朗普利用《国防生产法》(尽管不是很好) 在大流行期间确保医疗设备的安全,以及 拜登正在考虑这样做以加快疫苗的生产和分发 (他绝对应该)。

我们可以走得更远。

《国防生产法》可用于激发 “清洁能源革命”,用拜登气候计划的话来说.

我们需要一个让人们工作的联邦就业创造计划:

  • 构建可再生能源综合电网
  • 建立清洁能源公共交通系统
  • 改造建筑物、道路和高速公路以提高能源效率
  • 应对气候紧急情况,拯救陷入野火和飓风路径的家庭,并帮助他们在灾后重建或搬迁。
  • 在易受气候紧急情况影响的社区中建立气候适应系统。
  • 在全国范围内建造节能的经济适用房或公共住房。
  • 和更多。

现在不是调整和监管的时候。 现在是时候将我们的政府、行业和社会的全部目光转向避免气候变化,以免为时已晚。

运动的作用

这是乔拜登的罗斯福时刻。 如果他满足它,我们就可以避免气候变化,并以同样的计划创造数百万个良好的就业机会,让我们拥有更清洁的空气、水和土壤。

但这不会单独发生。 我们必须为之奋斗。

Like Biden, FDR was elected and pushed into action by popular movements demanding change in a time of crisis. 罗斯福未被选为激进分子,但他被运动组织者推动采取行动。 有一次,他会见了一群维权人士后说:“我同意你的看法,现在出去让我去做。”

这就是我们的工作: 继续施加如此多的公众压力,以至于拜登和国会不会将气候变化的紧迫性和采取大胆行动的必要性置于优先地位。

当他第一次会见他的劳工部长弗朗西斯·帕金斯时,她向罗斯福提出了一系列进步的建议(包括社会保障和最低工资),并说: “以前在美国从来没有做过这样的事情。 你知道,不是吗?”

这就是我们的工作: 梦想不可想象的事情并为之奋斗。 弗朗西斯·帕金斯 (Frances Perkins) 的声明现在适用。 在美国以前从未发生过这样的事情。

由于在他的条款上对罗斯福施加压力,他实现了她的预言并改变了美国政府的性质。

我们有责任确保拜登继续活到这一刻。 本月的渐进式环保精选(吉纳·麦卡锡阿里·扎迪(Ali Zaidi) 特别是)是很好的第一步,而新的 被任命者 到国家经济委员会也看好。 拥有其中之一 最早的绿色新政共同发起人担任内政部长 肯定不会痛。

但工作不能就此止步。

我们正准备动员组织,这将带来接下来的步骤。 绿色新政十年现在开始。 我们需要你。
22 月 8 日星期二,东部标准时间晚上 10 点到 1 点加入我们的 GND 第一年培训.

fbpx
Skip to content
Climate Mandate Generation Banner
Theory Of Change

Averting Climate Change: Lessons from the New Deal

We have some suggestions...

If you’re like most young people, 2020 has felt like a complete and unmitigated disaster. It’s been the year so bad that a fleet of murder hornets appeared, then disappeared somehow, without any of us noticing.

We’ve spent most of the year trapped by the COVID-19 pandemic. Trapped in isolation within our homes, trying to avoid the virus and keep our loved ones safe. Trapped in jobs that didn’t seem to care if they exposed us every day, with insufficient protections, all for a wage that barely paid our bills to begin with. Trapped in a year that seems like it will never come to an end.

Millions of us lost our jobs and struggled to get by, unsure how to pay for rent and groceries, let alone our student debt. All the while, the wealthiest billionaires saw their wealth skyrocket, revealing the perverse inequality baked into our economy. While our world collapsed, they added to their dragon’s hoard.

And the government that should have stepped in to help? Between an incompetent and vain president who ignored science, an obstructionist Senate Majority Leader, and a Democratic House Majority afraid to be bold, the American people have largely gone unsupported.

Worse, there’s a lingering sense that this chaos is just a preview of our future. COVID has shined a harsh spotlight on the fault lines running through the foundations of our society, from our health infrastructure to our economy. It’s more clear than ever before that we’re not prepared—medically or socially—for society-wide disasters.

As if that weren’t concerning enough, we are careening head first into the climate catastrophe, which threatens to crack those foundations wide open.

Just this summer:

  • Following a decade of drought, the West US blazed uncontrollably for weeks, shattering fire records.
  • Record hurricanes bombarded the Gulf Coast and the Atlantic states.
  • Freak floods and a storm dubbed a “land hurricane” ravaged the Midwest.

And, while the pandemic will begin to subside as the vaccine rolls out, climate change is only getting worse. We can’t afford to fail our climate change response as we just did our COVID response.

Yellow background with green text reading "Climate change is the single greatest threat humanity has ever faced. We can stop it, but it's going to take a society-wide mobilization. Climate Mandate 2020"

Biden’s Climate Mandate

Going into 2021, president Biden will inherit these disasters. He will take over the worst economic recession since the Great Depression and take office as the last president able to act in time to avert irreversible climate change.

Biden has a unique opportunity to tackle both crises simultaneously—rebuilding our economy while averting climate change—with the same solution: a Green New Deal.

Biden ran on a campaign pledge to create millions of good-paying jobs and put us on a path to achieving a carbon-pollution free electric sector by 2035. Now he just has to do it.

This would be a massive industrial mobilization the likes of which we haven’t seen since the last time our society was on the verge of collapse: the 1930s.

We can learn from what happened then.

Trump and Hoover—Two Failed Presidents

In 1929, the stock market crashed, sending the economy into a free fall, with one in four Americans unemployed. As the Great Depression roiled on, then-president Herbert Hoover refused to pursue government aid, which he saw as “handouts,” and instead praised American “rugged individualism” as the path out.

Rather than admit the severity of the crisis, he took to the air to say, “any lack of confidence in the economic future or the strength of business in the United States is foolish.” In 1930, Hoover said, “The worst is behind us”—words Trump echoed in April. History would go on to prove them both wrong.

At the same time, unsustainable farming practices had completely destroyed the Great Plains across Oklahoma, Texas, Kansas, New Mexico, and Colorado. Dried up topsoil was torn away by winds and lifted into massive “black blizzards”  that ravaged the region, in some cases carried all the way to the East coast. These storms left a wake of respiratory ailments, including coughing spasms, shortness of breath, asthma, bronchitis, and influenza. Many developed silicosis, a condition normally found in underground miners. Hundreds died of the so-called “brown plague,” dust pneumonia.

It was an economic and ecological catastrophe. At the same time, fascism was on the rise around the world, ultimately sparking World War II. Sound familiar?

Yellow background with green text reading, "When FDR took office at the beginning of the Great Depression, he stood at a crossroads: continue business as usual, or mobilize every government power at his disposal to help working Americans."

In the face of massive unemployment and ecological destruction, FDR needed to rebuild our economy, repair the environment, and revive trust in the potential of government. To do that, he needed to think big. He famously pledged himself to “a new deal for the American people,” and that work fundamentally reshaped American society.

The New Deal was a Green New Deal

As a part of the New Deal, FDR established a number of federal jobs programs, which put Americans to work upgrading or building the infrastructure we needed—from buildings and homes, to roads and bridges, to dams and power. This is the same work we need today.

As we consider today the monumental task of overhauling our energy infrastructure away from fossil fuels and onto clean energy, as well as overhauling the rest of our infrastructure to be more energy efficient, we can learn a lot from the federal programs FDR instituted.

Civilian Conservation Corps → Climate Change Corps

Then

Green hued landscape illustration on a yellow background, with greed words reading, "The civilian conservation corps hired young people to plant trees and respond to natural disasters like forest fires, hurricanes, floods, and droughts."

The Civilian Conservation Corps was a federal jobs program that put young people to work on public lands, tending to forests and planting trees, and responding to natural emergencies like forest fires and floods.

Now

Every region of the United States faces escalated natural disasters (courtesy of climate change): fires on the West coast, floods in the Midwest, hurricanes in the Gulf and the East Coast. A renewed Civilian Conservation Corps (perhaps renamed Climate Change Corps) could create jobs working to prevent or respond to those disasters, rebuilding trust in the words Ronald Reagan maligned: “I’m from the government, and I’m here to help.”

When the Civilian Conservation Corps launched, 300,000 young people signed up in the first 6 months. Many of them had NEVER held jobs before, and the CCC lifted them out of poverty.

To wrangle with a pandemic-induced recession, we can offer people a unique job: saving the world from climate change.

Illustration of hands shaking with decorative border on yellow background with green words reading, "As escalating natural disasters hit America from coast to coast, a renewed civilian conservation corps overseen by the Office of Climate Mobilization,  could once again build trust in the words: 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'"

Civil Works Administration/Works Progress Administration

Then

The Civil Works Administration was a short-term federal jobs program that employed 4.5 million workers in construction jobs improving or constructing infrastructure like buildings and bridges.

It was so popular that, after its expiration, it was replaced by the Works Progress Administration, which would go on to employ 8.5 million workers, who built more than:

  • 650,000 miles of new and improved roads
  • 10,000 buildings including houses and schools
  • 16,000 miles of new water lines

Now

America’s transit and infrastructure consistently ranks among the worst compared to countries of similar wealth. Our roads and bridges are crumbling and our public housing supply is inadequate, while existing units are unhealthy and outdated. 

Housing and transportation combined account for almost 50% of US emissions. Upgrading the energy efficiency of our nation’s housing and roads would go a long way toward meeting our necessary climate change goals.

Rural Electrification Administration → Rural Broadband Administration (7037)

Then

The Rural Electrification Administration rolled out electric power to rural areas across the United States. Before the REA, fewer than 11% of US farms had electric power. By the end of the program, 97% did. The program was extremely cost efficient as well, costing less than $825 per mile (private power companies claimed it would cost $1500-$2000 per mile).

Now

Rural areas largely have access to electricity. But when it comes to the dominant utility of the 21st century—internet—rural areas have been left behind. A newly established Rural Broadband Administration could expand internet access to underserved communities, while upgrading our electric grid as we transition away from fossil fuels to clean energy.

National Youth Administration (Executive Order 7806)

Then

Spearheaded by First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, the National Youth Administration was a work and education program for young people which paid college students and other young people for part-time work, including job training.

Now

Young people have been hardest hit by the economic impacts of the recession, with the unemployment rate of workers 16-29 peaking above 30%. While college was relatively affordable decades ago, the costs have since ballooned.

President Biden should work to make college affordable—and ultimately free—for all who wish to attend, and forgive the skyrocketing student loan debt crisis to prevent the younger generation’s economic prospects from being underwater for further decades.

New Deal Executive Orders

While much of the New Deal was done in coordination with Congress, FDR exercised a level of executive power never before seen in the US, and never seen since.

His work included a record-shattering 3728 executive orders. In fact, each of the programs detailed above was established at least partially via executive order, not to mention the many regulations and appointments made to oversee the New Deal.

Horizontal bar visualization comparing number of executive orders between presidents with text reading, "His work included a record-shattering 3728 Executive Orders during his presidency."
Bars read: "Franklin Delano Roosevelt 3728, Trump 194, Obama 276, Bush 291, Clinton 364, H.W. Bush 166, Reagan 381, Carter 320, Ford 169, Nixon 346, Johnson 325, Kennedy 214, Eisenhower 484, Truman 907"

On the campaign trail, Joe Biden said he wanted to be a Rooseveltian president.

To live up to that, he needs to adopt a central mandate that unites the work of our government to meet the existential crises of our time.

At a time when millions are out of work, we need a federal office with the power and access to coordinate federal agencies in a society-wide mobilization that employs millions, decarbonizing our economy.

Government building illustrations on a yellow background with text "We can structure a similar economic mobilization, and it should come straight from the office of the President. This will require he creation of a new Office of Climate Mobilization that works across the cabinet to align every federal department to this national mission.

Imagine the possibilities if every department in the Cabinet worked together:

  • Millions of new energy-efficient public housing units built by the Department of Housing and Urban Development…
  • …connected to the region around them by efficient roads and well-developed public transit under the Secretary of Transportation…
  • …all integrated into an expanded, fully green electrical grid overseen by the Department of Energy…
  • …while the workers on each project are protected by an aggressive Department of Labor.

With our entire executive branch working in tandem, we can meet the challenge of climate change and create millions of good jobs.

Illustrated city on yellow background with text "We need a massive investment in infrastructure from the construction and installation of new green energy facilities, to the upgrading of our buildings' energy efficiency, to the revival of our public transportation."

Where the New Deal went wrong

Joe Biden should also learn from FDR’s mistakes.

For electoral support, FDR compromised with racist Southern Democrats, ignoring or in some cases worsening racial segregation. That can’t happen today. Biden must do the reverse, investing first and most in communities that are on the frontlines of environmental injustice.

That requires having the right people at the table. Biden’s administration can’t be dominated by corporate interests; it needs to be filled with organizers who have a history of fighting for working people and for justice.

Biden Must Declare a Climate Emergency

In 1933, Roosevelt invoked the National Emergencies Act to act in the face of the Great Depression.

Biden should follow suit.

This weekend, Biden said “Just like we need a unified national response to COVID-19, we need a unified national response to climate change. We need to meet the moment with the urgency it demands as we would during any national emergency.

We agree. For starters, he should declare the climate crisis a national emergency, invoking the NEA (as FDR did), and the Defense Production Act. This isn’t politics; it’s reality. We are in a crisis, and emergency alarms have been blaring for some time. It’s time to act like it.

If you’ve been following the news about COVID, you’ll know that – after ongoing pressure – Trump leveraged the Defense Production Act (albeit not very well) to secure medical equipment during the pandemic, and Biden is considering doing so to speed vaccine production and distribution (he definitely should).

We can go much farther.

The Defense Production Act can be used to spark a “clean energy revolution”, to use the words on Biden’s climate plan.

We need a federal job creation plan that puts people to work:

  • building a comprehensive renewable energy grid
  • establishing clean energy public transportation systems
  • retrofitting buildings, roads, and highways for energy efficiency
  • responding to climate emergencies, saving families caught in the path of wildfires and hurricanes, and helping them rebuild or relocate in the aftermath.
  • creating systems of climate resilience in communities susceptible to climate emergencies.
  • constructing energy efficient affordable or public housing across the nation.
  • and more.

This isn’t the time for tweaks and regulations. It’s the time to turn the full eye of our government, industry, and society towards averting climate change, before it’s too late for humanity.

The Role of the Movement

This is Joe Biden’s FDR moment. If he meets it, we can avert climate change and create millions of good jobs with the same plan, leaving us with cleaner air and water and soil.

But it’s not going to just happen by itself. We have to fight for it.

Like Biden, FDR was elected and pushed into action by popular movements demanding change in a time of crisis. FDR wasn’t elected a radical, but he was pushed by movement organizers into action. Once, after meeting with a group of activists, he said, “I agree with you, now go out and make me do it.”

That’s our job: to continue laying on so much public pressure that Biden—and Congress—will not deprioritize the urgency of climate change, the necessity of bold action.

When he first met with his Labor Secretary, Frances Perkins, she presented Roosevelt with a series of progressive proposals (including Social Security and a minimum wage), and said, “Nothing like this has ever been done in the United States before. You know that, don’t you?”

That’s our job: to dream up the unthinkable and fight for it. Frances Perkins’ statement holds true now. Nothing like this has ever been done in the United States before.

As a result of the pressure placed on FDR over his terms, he lived up to her prophecy and changed the nature of American government.

It’s up to us to make sure Biden continues to live up to this moment. This month’s progressive environmental picks (Gina McCarthy and Ali Zaidi in particular) are a good first step, and the new appointees to the National Economic Council are also promising. Having one of the earliest Green New Deal cosponsors as Secretary of the Interior certainly won’t hurt.

But the work can’t stop there.

We’re gearing up to mobilize for the organizing that will bring about the next steps. The Decade of the Green New Deal starts now. And we need you.
Join us Tuesday, December 22, from 8-10pm EST for our GND year 1 training.