fbpx
跳到内容
运动更新

日出一般运动更新:2022 年 XNUMX 月

日出一般更新 2022 年 XNUMX 月

2022 年将是 Sunrise 的重要一年,也是我们开启绿色新政时代的追求!  随着新运动 DNA 的推出、2022 月关键的中期选举、气候灾难引领着我们的方向,以及无数采取行动、发展我们的运动和建立力量的机会——毫无疑问,XNUMX 年将使我们保持警惕!


这就是为什么我们举办了 一月运动领袖 x All Hands 于 19 月 XNUMX 日星期三召集,开启新的一年吧!  这次电话会议是一个机会,可以作为一个完整的运动和员工团队聚集在一起,用我们需要的关系、信息和能量武装自己,使 2022 年成为我们需要的重要一年。 以下是我们讨论的内容:

国家更新

  1. 所有广告系列更新的好工作
  2. 前端加载和内容测试
  3. 选举计划
  4. 日出组织指导团队
  5. 跨核心小组
  6. 公共住房运动的 GND
  7. 中心案例研究:气候灾害响应

国家更新

1. 所有活动更新的好工作

现在,“重建得更好”在国会处于次要地位……仍然。 在 2021 年底,国会正努力争取圣诞节的最后期限,直到曼钦表示他不会对 BBB 投票,而拜登 + 舒默确认 BBB 在投票权辩论得到解决之前不会继续进行(尽管......他们已经为这项法案工作了 8 个月),而 BBB 的新软截止日期是国情咨文在 XNUMX 月初。

我们在 2020 年让民主党控制了众议院、参议院和白宫。我们选举他们的任务是应对气候变化并为我们而战,即使占多数,他们仍然无法完成工作。 我们没有足够的权力来完成我们需要做的一切,过去的一年向我们表明,虽然我们在国会有一些盟友(向小队大喊大叫),但并非所有民主党人都支持我们。 随着我们继续争取 BBB 的通过,我们也在展望 2022 年、中期选举,并选出将为我们而战的民主党人,而不是他们的企业捐助者。

需要注意的重要一点:BBB 中与气候相关的所有内容都已达成共识,甚至得到了 Manchin 的支持。 但是,诸如儿童税收抵免以及我们未来所需的其他投资等关键条款仍在辩论中。

Sunrise 中发生了什么——我们正在缩减 BBB 的工作并期待 2022 年,推出我们的新战略和中期。 我们并没有完全停止 BBB 的所有工作,并将继续出现在合作伙伴组织中,并在过程中发生重大更新时做出响应,并支持那些感到兴奋以采取行动的中心。 

不管你对 BBB 的状态或民主本身的感觉如何,无论是愤怒、失望、沮丧,甚至是充满希望,都倾向于那。 今年我们应该从民主党和国会那里得到更多,我们仍然应该有一个值得为之奋斗的未来。

尽快寻找回顾活动的报告和汇报,从中心成员、工作人员和活动团队那里获取反馈。

2. Frontloading / DNA 批准

Frontloading 团队的第一轮 DNA(故事、策略、结构和文化)创建和内容测试已接近尾声,并准备进入新阶段,为 XNUMX 月的批准投票做准备! 

在那之前,我们新扩展的团队将从事两大工作: 

1) 使用内容测试反馈编辑 DNA(我们将在多轮中进行此操作)和 

2) 继续进行内容测试。 

我们正在研究如何在未来几个月内联系我们运动中的每个中心和领导者,以获得他们对 Sunrise 2.0 的意见、想法和灵感。 在过去的几周里,我们的 DNA 子团队的工作得出了以下结论: 

  • 故事团队:这个团队完全处于我们元叙事的编辑阶段,现在正在与一个扩大的创意团队合作,为内容测试准备视觉策略。 
  • 战略团队:这个团队正在研究如何缩小策略范围(如果你参加过内容测试会议,你就会知道它很多),以及充实拟议活动的细节。 
  • 文化团队:这个团队完全处于原则编辑阶段,现在正在研究如何将文化价值观、实践和结构整合到我们的 DNA 和运营的其余部分中。 
  • 结构团队: 该团队正在主持批准设计会议,以在前端加载结束时完成运动投票,与运动民主项目合作,为志愿者制定实施决策结构的计划,并举办研讨会以深入挖掘枢纽和章节结构枢纽领导者。 

在接下来的几周内,我们将推出更具体的计划。 但与此同时,您可以查看明天在 Slack 中即将举行的批准会议的链接,或报名参加一系列研讨会,将前端加载的结构内容带到中心消化、提供反馈并协作生成替代或扩展的想法和实践我们运动的未来结构。 为了实现愿景,我们可以执行该愿景,使我们的枢纽受益并发展壮大,并为建立全国实力奠定基础,我们需要帮助。 


填写我们的 Google表格 如果您是希望参与并努力塑造内容的中心成员或工作人员,或者如果您想帮助招募和促进研讨会!

3.  

从 Jessica Cisneros 的初选开始提前投票到在 TX-28 中击败 Henry Cuellar,我们还有不到一个月的时间。 杰西卡是一名来自德克萨斯州拉雷多的 28 岁移民律师 在一个强大的平台上运行,其中包括绿色新政、全民医疗保险、移民改革、腐败改革等。 她一生都在为她的社区而战,现在她将这场斗争带到了国会。 另一方面,奎利亚尔是国会中最保守的“民主党人”……他拥有 NRA 的“A”评级,在他的整个职业生涯中从石油和天然气行业获得了超过 800,000 万美元,并且在诸如此类的事情上一直与共和党人一起投票限制堕胎权和劳工权利。 

2020 年,杰西卡与奎利亚尔竞争,仅以 2,700 票之差落败。 她今年回来了,在我们的帮助下,她获得了真正的胜利! 赢得这次初选将对民主党感到震惊,并意味着更大的小队🙂 

为了赢得胜利,我们需要尽可能多的人在 TX28 使用电话银行并与选民交谈。 我们已经拨打了超过 100,000 次电话,但现在是我们升级的时候了! 

您可以通过此链接注册拨打电话: https://smvmt.org/sunriseforjessica. 实际上,我们现在真的有一个电话银行! 我们每周三和周日打电话,很快就会增加更多天数。 
您甚至可以与朋友或您的集线器在 https://smvmt.org/host4jessica. 我们将为您提供运营出色的电话银行所需的所有资源和支持! 在 1 月 1 日之前,为杰西卡投降是我们的首要选举优先事项,因此,如果您正在寻找一种简单而有效的参与方式,就是这样! XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日之后,我们将开始支持全国其他重要赛事。

4. 日出组织指导团队

自 2022 月以来,指导团队主要专注于目标设定、时间表和项目规划,以确保我们的计划、人员结构和预算能够帮助我们实现 XNUMX 年的目标。这主要看起来像:

  • 确保我们组织的 2022 年预算反映了我们的首要任务! 这包括将我们的预算从关注部门​​转移到按计划组织它们,以及制定 2022 年的战略和计划计划,以便能够将我们的预算作为基础;
  • 确保我们的员工结构遵循我们的战略和项目计划,并做出一些改变,以便我们的结构将为我们在 2022 年上半年的计划取得成功做好准备;

此外,指导团队的系统和沟通小组希望您知道,我们正在对我们与其他工作人员和运动成员进行沟通以及接收问题、反馈和请求的方式进行一些更新。 我们将很快推出一些新系统,敬请期待!

5. 跨党团

我们已经启动了一个跨核心小组作为 Sunrise 2.0 核心小组结构的试点项目! 日出运动跨核心小组是跨性别运动成员和工作人员建立社区的空间,在日出内部组织赋权,并确定该运动在更广泛的跨性别解放斗争中战略性地在外部出现的机会。

跨核心小组与 Frontloading 密切合作,从现在到 Sunrise 2.0 发布之间传递学习、挑战和其他内容,因此我们可以在更大规模地实施核心小组之前尝试正式的核心小组结构可能是什么样子。

加入日出运动跨核心小组*:

  • 填写 新的核心小组成员表格.
  • 核心小组成员将与您联系以安排谈话时间。
  • 您将被添加到跨核心小组 Slack 频道并被邀请参加下一次月度会议。

*核心小组针对 35 岁以下的跨性别运动成员。如果您是 35 岁或 XNUMX 岁以上但想要支持的跨性别运动成员,请发送电子邮件至 Gabbi Pierce [电子邮件保护] 随时了解其他参与方式!

6. 公共住房运动的 GND

Sunrise 于 2019 年 2021 月至 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月发起了公共住房绿色新政运动,目标如下:

  • 建立强大的领导者,支持为公共住房的 GND 而战,并建立强大的组织联盟,以建立他们可以在 2022 年行使的权力。 
  • 改变我们正在运行该计划的城市中公共住房的观点和立法优先事项,并且有尊严的住房是一种权利,并且与我们最脆弱社区的宜居未来有着内在的联系。 

为了实现这些目标,我们:

  • 进行 13 次发展培训
  • 有 3 个基本协调的行动
  • 建立了3个联盟
  • 有 1 次新闻点击

这些是我们的经验教训:

  • LA、PR 和 NY 团队已开始加入 GNF4PH 的积极联盟
  • 100% 的参与者表示在完成项目后的两个月内使用了他们在项目中学到的技能
  • 参与者的人口统计:
    • 94% BIPOC(这是 Sunrise 迄今为止 BIPOC 参与者的最高百分比!)
    • 52% 说西班牙语
    • 90.5% 工人阶级或穷人
    • 48% 公屋租户或前线居民(原目标为 50%)

7. 中心案例研究:气候灾害响应

关键链接/资源:

更新: 

日出运动有一个气候灾害响应小组,以帮助经历自然灾害的枢纽应对其所在地区的灾难。 我们团队的目标是与可能想要练习互助、创建情感处理空间、提升社交媒体内容、计划直接行动或其他中心领导者梦想的中心合作。 我们的目标是确保在其所在地区发生灾难时为枢纽提供支持。 我们在这里为您服务。 🤠 如有任何问题,请联系 Kidus 或给他发电子邮件,并查看我们上面的 1 页指南,了解我们可以一起做些什么。

fbpx
Skip to content
Movement Updates

Sunrise General Movement Update: January 2022

Sunrise General Update January 2022

2022 is going to be a BIG year for Sunrise and our quest to usher in the era of the Green New Deal!  With the launch of a new Movement DNA, crucial midterm elections in November, climate disasters headed our direction, and innumerable opportunities to take action, grow our movement and build power – there’s no doubt that 2022 is going to keep us on our toes!


That’s why we held the January’s Movement Leaders x All Hands call on Wednesday, January 19th to kick off the new year right!  This call was an opportunity to come together as a full movement and staff team to arm ourselves with the relationships, information and energy we need to make 2022 the important year we need it to be. Here’s what we talked about:

National Updates

  1. Good Jobs for All Campaign Updates
  2. Frontloading and Content Testing
  3. Electoral Program
  4. Sunrise Organizational Steering Team
  5. Trans Caucus
  6. GND for Public Housing Campaign
  7. Hub Case Study: Climate Disaster Response

National Updates

1. Good Jobs for All Campaign Updates

Right now, Build Back Better is on the back burner in Congress…still. At the end of 2021, Congress was working towards a Christmas deadline, until Manchin said he wouldn’t vote on BBB and Biden + Schumer affirmed that BBB will not get moved on until debates over voting rights are resolved (even though…they’ve been working on this bill for 8 months), and the new soft deadline for BBB is by the State of the Union in early March.

We delivered Democrats control of the House, Senate, and White House in 2020. We elected them on a mandate to act on climate and fight for us, and even with the majority, they still couldn’t get the job done. We don’t have enough power to get everything we need done, and this past year has shown us that while we have some allies in Congress (shoutout to the Squad), not all Democrats have our backs. As we continue to fight for BBB to pass, we’re also looking ahead into 2022, the midterms, and electing Democrats that will fight for us, not their corporate donors.

Important to note: everything related to climate in BBB is agreed upon, and even has Manchin’s backing. But key provisions like the child tax credit, and other investments we need for our future, are still being debated.

What’s happening in Sunrise—we are scaling back our work on BBB and looking forward to 2022, launching our new strategy, and the midterms. We are not completely stopping all work on BBB and will continue to show up for partner organizations and respond to big updates in the process as they happen,  and support hubs that are feeling fired up to take action. 

However you are feeling about the state of BBB or democracy itself, whether it’s angry, disappointed, upset, or even hopeful, lean into that. We deserved more from Democrats and Congress this year, and we still deserve a future that’s worth fighting for.

Look out soon for reports and debriefs looking back on the campaign, capturing feedback from hub members, staff, and campaign team.

2. Frontloading / DNA Ratification

The frontloading team is nearing the end of it’s first round of DNA (story, strategy, structure, and culture) creation and content-testing, and ready to move into a new phase as we prep for the ratification vote in May! 

Until then, our newly expanded team is going to be working on two main buckets of work: 

1) editing DNA with content-testing feedback (we will do this in multiple rounds) and 

2) continuing to content-test. 

We are figuring out how, over the coming months, we can reach every hub & leader in our movement to get their input, ideas, and inspiration for Sunrise 2.0. Over the past few weeks, our DNA sub team work has been wrapping up to the following conclusions: 

  • Story team: This team is entirely in the edits stage for our metanarrative, and is now working with an expanded creative team to prep a visual strategy for content-testing. 
  • Strategy team: This team is figuring out how to narrow down the strategy (if you’ve been to a content-testing session, you know it’s a lot) as well as fleshing out the details for the proposed campaigns. 
  • Culture team: This team is entirely in the edits stage for principles, and is now working on figuring out how to integrate cultural values, practices, and structures into the remainder of our DNA and operations. 
  • Structure team: This team is hosting ratification design sessions to finalize the movement vote at the end of frontloading, working with the Movement Democracy Project to create a plan for volunteers to implement the decision-making structures, and hosting workshops to dig deep on hub & chapter structures with hub leaders. 

Over the next few weeks, we’re going to be rolling out more concrete plans. But in the meantime, you can look out for the links to the upcoming ratification sessions in Slack tomorrow or sign up for a series of workshops to bring frontloading’s structure content to hubs to digest, provide feedback and collaboratively generate alternative or expanding ideas and practices for the future structure of our movement. In order to bring a vision we can execute that benefits and grows our hubs and provides the foundation for building nationwide strength, we’re gonna need help. 


Fill out our google form if you are a hub member or staff that wants to participate and work to mold the content, or if you want to help recruit for and facilitate the workshops!

3. Electoral 

We’re less than a month out from the start of early voting in Jessica Cisneros’ primary to unseat Henry Cuellar in TX-28. Jessica is a 28-year-old immigration lawyer from Laredo, TX running on a powerful platform that includes the Green New Deal, Medicare For All, immigration reform, corruption reform, and more. She’s been fighting for her community her whole life and now she’s bringing that fight to Congress. Cuellar, on the other hand, is the most conservative “Democrat” in Congress… he has an “A” rating from the NRA, has taken over $800,000 from the oil and gas industry throughout his career, and consistently votes with Republicans on things like restricting the right to abortion and labor rights. 

In 2020, Jessica ran against Cuellar and lost by just 2,700 votes. She’s back this year and with our help she’s got a real shot to win! Winning this primary would be a shock to the Democratic party and would mean a bigger Squad 🙂 

In order to win, we need as many people getting on phone banks and talking to voters in TX28. We’ve made just over 100,000 calls already, but now it’s time for us to level up! 

You can sign up to make calls at  this link: https://smvmt.org/sunriseforjessica. We actually have a phone bank happening literally right now!! We call every Wednesday and Sunday, and will be adding more days soon. 
You can even host your own phone bank with friends or your hub at https://smvmt.org/host4jessica. We’ll give you all the resources and support you need to run an awesome phone bank! Throwing down for Jessica is our top electoral priority through March 1st, so if you’re looking for an easy and impactful  way to get involved, this is it! Post March 1st, we’ll start supporting other important races across the country.

4. Sunrise Organizational Steering Team

Since December the Steering Team has primarily been focused on goal setting, timelining and project planning to make sure our programs, staff structure and budget will set us up to meet our goals in 2022. This has primarily looked like:

  • Making sure our organization has a budget for 2022 that reflects our top priorities! This includes shifting our budget from being focused around departments to having them organized by program, as well as making working on strategy and program plans for 2022 to be able to base our budget off of;
  • Making sure our staff staff structure follows our strategy and program plans and making some changes so that our structure will set us up for success for our plans for the first half of 2022;

Additionally, the Systems and Communications subteam on the Steering Team would like you to know we are working on some updates to the ways we both communicate out to the rest of staff and members of the movement and receive questions, feedback and requests. We will have some new systems rolling out soon, stay tuned!

5. Trans Caucus

We’ve launched a trans caucus as a pilot project for Sunrise 2.0 caucus structures! The Sunrise Movement Trans Caucus serves as a space for trans movement members and staff to build community, organize for empowerment within Sunrise, and identify opportunities for the movement to strategically show up externally in the broader fight for trans liberation.

The trans caucus works closely with Frontloading to transmit learnings, challenges, and beyond between now and the Sunrise 2.0 launch so we can try on what a formalized caucus structure could look like before we implement caucuses on a grander scale.

To join the Sunrise Movement Trans Caucus*:

  • Fill out the new caucus member form.
  • A caucus member will reach out to you to schedule a time to talk.
  • You’ll be added to the trans caucus Slack channel and be invited to the next monthly meeting.

*The caucus is for trans movement members under 35. If you’re cis or over 35 but want to support, email Gabbi Pierce at [email protected] to stay in the loop on other ways to get involved!

6. GND for Public Housing Campaign

Sunrise launched a Green New Deal for Public Housing Campaign from November 2019 – June 2021 with the following objectives:

  • Build powerful leaders who champion the fight for the GND for Public Housing and build powerful organizing coalitions to build power that they can wield in 2022. 
  • Change the view and legislative prioritization of public housing in the cities we’re running this program and that dignified housing is a right, and is intrinsically tied to a livable future for our most vulnerable communities. 

To achieve these objectives, we:

  • Ran 13 developmental trainings
  • Had 3 substantially coordinated actions
  • Built 3 coalitions
  • Had 1 press hit

These were our learnings:

  • LA, PR, and NY cohorts have started of joined active coalitions for GNF4PH
  • 100% of participants reported using skills they learned in the program in their organizing within two months of completing the program
  • Demographics of Participants:
    • 94% BIPOC (This is the highest percentage of Bipoc participants  to date at Sunrise!)
    • 52% Spanish speakers
    • 90.5% Working class or poor
    • 48% Public Housing Tenants or Frontline Residents (original goal of 50%)

7. Hub Case Study: Climate Disaster Response

Key Links/Resources:

Updates: 

Sunrise Movement has a Climate Disaster Response Team to assist hubs experiencing natural disaster respond to calamities in their area. The goal of our team is to partner with hubs who might want to practice mutual aid, create an emotional processing space, boost social media content, plan a direct action or something else hub leaders dream of. Our goal is to make sure hubs are supported when a disaster strikes in their area. We’re here for you. 🤠 Please dm Kidus or email him with any questions and review our 1-page guide above for an idea of what we might be able to do together.