fbpx
跳到内容
运动更新

启动绿色新政十年所需的立法

拜登总统和国会民主党人正在制定一项基础设施一揽子计划,这可能标志着绿色新政十年的开始——但前提是他们以这场危机要求的规模通过政策。

日出者在华盛顿街头游行,标语上写着为我们所爱的人和我们喝的水

野火正在美国西部肆虐。 随着墨西哥湾南部和东海岸的社区为破纪录的飓风季节做准备,太平洋西北部还有另一场三位数的热浪。 气候变化已经来临,我们需要一项绿色新政来应对这场危机,创造数百万高薪、工会工作并推进种族和经济正义。

拜登总统和国会民主党人正在制定一项基础设施方案, 可以 标志着绿色新政十年的开始——但前提是他们以这场危机要求的规模通过政策。 

在总统竞选期间,参议员伯尼·桑德斯 (Bernie Sanders) 提议在未来十年内投资 16 万亿美元用于解决气候危机。 现在,国会最大、最大胆的提案在同一时期将花费总计约 4 万亿美元。 我们知道这个基础设施包不是我们需要的一切。 

但是,该一揽子计划仍将代表有史以来最大的应对气候变化的投资,也是自新政以来支持劳动人民的最大公共投资。 它将创造良好的就业机会,开始解决气候危机,并开始将经济从一种破坏和绝望转变为一种关怀和同情。 这是我们向人们展示政府可以让他们的生活更美好的机会,并且当我们组织起来时,我们可以赢得我们应得的改变。 未来几年,我们将在此基础上再接再厉,弥合桌面上的内容与我们所知道的这场危机要求之间的差距。

但目前,这项立法处于危险之中。 我们知道,化石燃料行业正在游说国会议员——在过道的两边——并推动一项更小、更弱的法案,让他们继续污染前线社区,使我们的气候变暖,并将我们锁定在几十年的化石燃料开发中. 可怕的是它已经开始工作了。 参议院能源与自然资源委员会民主党主席乔曼钦表示,化石燃料应该成为任何“清洁”能源政策的一部分,民主党参议员 Kyrsten Sinema 表示她不会按原样投票支持基础设施一揽子计划,威胁其通过的机会,除非它得到 甚至更小

我们需要反击,并在国会中加强民主党的脊梁以坚守阵线。 我们不能让埃克森美孚和他们的游说者攻击我们的优先事项并将它们从立法方案中排除。

我们正在争取拜登和国会通过一项基础设施一揽子计划,以应对气候变化、创造数以百万计的好工作、促进种族和经济正义,以及 迎来绿色新政十年. 这必须包括:

资金充足的平民气候部队

  • 根据众议员 Ocasio-Cortez 和参议员 Markey 的说法,拨款 132 亿美元用于培训新的长期职业劳动力,以应对气候危机和提高社区复原力 促进就业和正义法案的平民气候团

对公共住房、学校、交通和可再生能源的大胆投资 

  • 根据众议员奥卡西奥-科尔特斯和参议员桑德斯的说法,拨款 172 亿美元用于改造现有公共住房和建造新单元,以扩大安全、负担得起的住房 公屋绿色新政.
  • 446 亿美元用于改造美国的公立学校,与众议员鲍曼一致 公立学校绿色新政.
  • 653 亿美元用于电气化和扩大公共交通,符合参议员舒默和布朗的美国清洁交通计划,众议员汉克约翰逊的 通过更好的交通法案建立更强大的社区,和代表。安迪莱文和奥卡西奥科尔特斯和 Sens. Markey & Warren's 建立绿色基础设施和就业法案.
  • 250 亿美元用于资助每个地方和部落政府的气候项目和就业机会,符合众议员布什和奥卡西奥-科尔特斯的要求 城市绿色新政法案.  
  • 1.1 万亿美元用于通过优先考虑可再生能源并排除包括天然气在内的化石燃料的清洁能源标准,将电力部门转变为 100% 可再生能源,这与代表克拉克和韦尔奇的观点一致 美国可再生能源法案,以及通过其他激励措施和对新的可再生能源建设和部署的直接投资。

PRO 法案中概述的工人保护 

  • 绿色新政的每一个项目都必须由工会来推动。 国会必须颁布自新政以来最大规模的劳动法改革,以保护和扩大工会组织,符合 保护组织权法

至少 40% 的投资投向前线社区 

  • 所有气候投资都必须致力于扭转系统性的种族和经济不公,并积极推进环境正义。 为确保情况如此,国会必须使用强大的绘图工具,例如 Rep. Bush 和 Sens. Markey 和 Duckworth 的 环境正义制图和数据收集法,帮助确定首当其冲的环境正义社区,这些社区首当其冲受到化石燃料和其他有毒工业污染、气候危机的影响以及数十年的投资减少和环境种族主义的影响,并将所有投资的至少 40% 用于这些社区。 每个管辖委员会都必须确保至少 40% 的资金分配给环境正义社区,国会和公众必须进行监督,让联邦政府承担责任,并确保资金公正、直接地到达社区。 

终止化石燃料补贴  

  • 国会必须停止将公共资金用作化石燃料行业的生命线。 国会必须废除化石燃料补贴,与众议员奥马尔和参议员桑德斯一致 终结污染者福利法,并投资于上述所有优先事项以应对气候危机,而不是继续资助创造它的行业。

fbpx
Skip to content
Movement Updates

The Legislation We Need to Kick off the Decade of the Green New Deal

President Biden and Democrats in Congress are putting together an infrastructure package that could signify the beginning of the decade of the Green New Deal -- but only if they pass policy at the scale this crisis demands.

Wildfires are raging in the American west. There’s another triple digit heat wave headed for the Pacific Northwest, as communities across the Gulf South and East Coast prepare for a record breaking hurricane season. Climate change is here, and we need a Green New Deal to address this crisis, create millions of good paying, union jobs and advance racial and economic justice.

President Biden and Democrats in Congress are putting together an infrastructure package that could signify the beginning of the decade of the Green New Deal — but only if they pass policy at the scale this crisis demands. 

During the presidential campaign, Sen. Bernie Sanders proposed spending $16 trillion over the next ten years investing in solutions to the climate crisis. Now, the biggest, boldest proposal in Congress would spend a total of about $4 trillion over the same period. We know this infrastructure package isn’t everything we need. 

But still, this package would represent the biggest-ever investment to combat climate change, and the biggest public investment towards supporting working people since the New Deal. It will create good jobs, start to address the climate crisis and begin to transition the economy from one of destruction and despair to one of care and compassion. It’s our chance to show people that the government can make their lives better and that when we organize, we can win the change we deserve. We’ll build on this foundation in the years to come and bridge the gap between what’s on the table and what we know this crisis demands.

But right now, this legislation is at risk. We know that the fossil fuel industry is lobbying Members of Congress — on both sides of the aisle — and pushing for a smaller, weaker bill that will let them continue polluting frontline communities, warming our climate, and locking us into decades more fossil fuel development. The scary part is that it’s already working; Democratic Chair of the Senate Energy & Natural Resources committee Joe Manchin has said that fossil fuels should be part of any “clean” energy policy, and Democratic Sen. Kyrsten Sinema said that she wouldn’t vote for the infrastructure package as is, threatening its chance of passing unless it gets even smaller

We need to fight back, and stiffen the spines of Democrats in Congress to hold the line. We can’t let Exxon and their lobbyists attack our priorities and take them out of the legislative package.

We are fighting for Biden and Congress to pass an infrastructure package that will combat climate change, create millions of good jobs, advance racial and economic justice, and usher in the decade of the Green New Deal. This must include:

A fully-funded Civilian Climate Corps

  • $132 billion to train a new workforce in long-term careers to tackle the climate crisis and improve community resilience, in line with Rep. Ocasio-Cortez and Sen. Markey’s Civilian Climate Corps for Jobs and Justice Act

Bold investments towards public housing, schools, transit, and renewable energy 

  • $172 billion towards retrofitting existing public housing and building new units to expand safe, affordable housing, in line with Rep. Ocasio-Cortez and Sen. Sanders’ Green New Deal for Public Housing.
  • $446 billion towards retrofitting America’s public schools, in line with Rep. Bowman’s Green New Deal for Public Schools.
  • $653 billion towards electrifying and expanding public transit, in line with Sen. Schumer and Brown’s Clean Transit for America Plan, Rep. Hank Johnson’s Stronger Communities Through Better Transit Act, and Reps. Andy Levin and Ocasio-Cortez and Sens. Markey & Warren’s BUILD GREEN Infrastructure and Jobs Act.
  • $250 billion towards funding climate projects and jobs in every local and tribal government in line with Reps. Bush and Ocasio-Cortez’s Green New Deal for Cities Act.  
  • $1.1 trillion to transition the power sector towards 100% renewable energy through a Clean Energy Standard that prioritizes renewable energy and excludes fossil fuels including natural gas, in line with Reps. Clarke and Welch’s American Renewable Energy Act, as well as through other incentives and direct investments towards new renewable construction and deployment.

Worker protections as outlined in the PRO Act 

  • Every project of the Green New Deal must be driven by union labor. Congress must enact the largest labor law reform since the New Deal to protect and expand union organizing, in line with the Protecting the Right to Organize (PRO) Act

At least 40% of investments to frontline communities 

  • All climate investments must work towards reversing systemic racial and economic injustice and actively advance environmental justice. In order to ensure this is the case, Congress must utilize a robust mapping tool, such as what is outlined in Rep. Bush and Sens. Markey and Duckworth’s Environmental Justice Mapping and Data Collection Act, to help identify frontline, environmental justice communities who have borne the brunt of fossil fuel and other toxic industry pollution, impacts of the climate crisis, and decades of disinvestment and environmental racism, and direct at least 40% of all investments towards those communities. Every committee of jurisdiction must ensure at least 40% of funds are being granted to environmental justice communities, and Congress and the public must have oversight to hold the federal government accountable and ensure the funds reach communities justly and directly. 

An end to fossil fuel subsidies  

  • Congress must stop spending public money as a lifeline for the fossil fuel industry. Congress must repeal fossil fuel subsidies, in line with Rep. Omar and Sen. Sanders’ End Polluter Welfare Act, and invest in all of the above priorities to tackle the climate crisis rather than continue to fund the industry that created it.