fbpx
跳到内容

日出筹款原则

世界的状况

我们的经济崩溃了。 2020 年 40 月至 XNUMX 月期间,虽然有 XNUMX 万人因冠状病毒大流行而失业,但美国的亿万富翁们却聚集了 超过半万亿美元。 

这笔钱的大部分——没有人能确定有多少——将被囤积在慈善机构中,这些机构充当合法的避税天堂,以促进财富从多数人向少数人的转移。 为了逃避支付公平份额的税收来为他们从中受益的经济做出贡献,精英们将把这笔财富的一小部分用于慈善事业。 与运动生态系统中的许多非营利组织一样,Sunrise 的法人实体将获得这一小部分的一小部分,以资助我们为 绿色新政.

在 2020 年 40 月至 600,000 年 22.00 月的同一时期,当这 XNUMX 万人失业时,我们的运动通过基层捐款筹集了 XNUMX 万美元,每人仅以约 XNUMX 美元的增量递增。

这两个筹款世界——老派慈善事业和数字基层——感觉就像我们试图逃离的世界和我们试图建立的世界的缩影。 就像我们仍然使用化石燃料来组织自己摆脱化石燃料经济一样,我们仍然依赖现有的筹款结构来资助我们的远见卓识。

随着我们的运动为绿色新政而组织——以及联邦政府控制百万富翁和亿万富翁囤积的巨额财富,转而投资于社区弹性和基础设施——我们的筹款人在我们为变革性工作提供资金并建设我们的基层捐助者基础。

我们建立了法人实体,借鉴了社会运动组织的遗产 学生非暴力协调委员会 在1960s中 联合我们的梦想 今天,为了接受和花费我们筹集的资金。 我们承认这些中心化组织仅代表我们整个运动的一小部分。

我们的筹款原则

无论是动员数千人进行小额捐赠,还是将大额支票从有钱人转移到运动中,筹款都是关于组织人和组织资金。 我们都对此负有责任,这就是为什么志愿者和工作人员筹款活动会培训 Sunrise 成员以培养他们的筹款技能。 我们创造性地尝试为我们的中心融资和将资源转移到我们的基地的方法,以克服机构设置的剥夺年轻人、有色人种社区和工人阶级权利的法律障碍。

金钱捐助只是给运动的一种方式。 许多年轻人选择花时间为绿色新政的拥护者建立他们当地的中心或电话银行,我们认为这些志愿者是 Sunrise 的命脉。 我们坚持日出原则#6,“我们寻求帮助,我们尽力而为。”

我们是一个由年轻人组成的运动,我们展示了这一点,在资助者会议上的着装与我们为培训着装的方式相同。 我们认识到,慈善事业长期以来一直被用作维护资本主义和白人至上主义文化的工具。 我们抵制慈善事业试图通过扩大我们的小额美元捐助者基础来控制我们的力量。 我们认识到我们可能会因为这样说而失去基金会的支持。

我们已经拒绝了对我们的战略的投入期望的检查,并将继续这样做。 有时,我们会从基金会寻求基于项目的赠款,以填补我们组织中的空白,以我们运动的需求而不是资助者的愿望为导向。 

资本主义和白人至上主义使这个国家的宝贵财富几乎没有被痛苦和剥削所破坏。 我们接受金钱是为了拆除最初造成我们国家巨大财富不平等的制度。 归根结底,捐赠是对齐的反映,而不是认可。 

我们发出联合筹款呼吁,相互建立联系,并在我们的运动中组织业主阶级捐助者直接捐赠给其他组织。 我们敦促我们的机构资助者重新考虑他们的资助优先事项,要求他们为我们的合作伙伴提供资源,从有色人种领导的有远见的社区团体到同样为转型变革建立群众运动的组织。

选举绿色新政的拥护者上任是我们变革理论的核心部分。 我们认可的候选人,通常是 BIPOC 工人阶级个人,缺乏建立政治家的资金和网络。 我们使用工具箱中的所有工具,包括我们的联邦 PAC,根据选举法为我们的拥护者提供资源。 充分发挥这些工具的潜力是我们获胜的方式。

我们的运动组织起来进行真正的再分配,打破精英对财富的垄断,通过赔偿和向富人征税来创造一个更平等的社会。 我们欢迎希望加入我们这场斗争的资助者,鼓励他们通过投资青年运动来承担风险。

2018 年 XNUMX 月南希佩洛西办公室静坐期间,活动人士在国会大厅排队,要求绿色新政。 当人们举着写着“人人享有绿色工作”的标语时,警察正走在激进派队伍之间的大厅里。

Sunrise 是一场年轻人的运动,旨在阻止气候变化并在此过程中创造数百万个就业机会。 我们正在建设人才和政治权力,使这个国家成为我们所有人都可以拥有宜居未来的国家——无论我们的肤色如何,也无论我们来自哪里。

您今天可以捐款以帮助我们为绿色新政而战并获胜吗?

fbpx
Skip to content

Sunrise Fundraising Principles

State of the World

Our economy is broken. Between March and June 2020, while 40 million people lost their jobs due to the coronavirus pandemic, America’s billionaires amassed more than half a trillion dollars. 

Much of this money — no one can be sure how much — will be hoarded in philanthropic institutions that serve as legal tax havens to facilitate the transfer of wealth from the many to the few. In order to escape paying their fair share of taxes to contribute to the economy they benefit from, the elite will spend a small percentage of this wealth under the auspice of charity. Like so many nonprofits in the movement ecosystem, the legal entities of Sunrise will receive a sliver of this small percentage to fund our work fighting for the Green New Deal.

In that same period between March and June 2020, when those 40 million people were out of work, our movement raised $600,000 through grassroots donations in increments of just about $22.00 each.

These two worlds of fundraising — old school philanthropy and the digital grassroots — feel like microcosms of the world we’re trying to escape and the world we’re trying to build. Much as we all still use fossil fuels to organize ourselves out of the fossil fuel economy, we still rely on the fundraising structures that exist to fund our visionary goals.

As our movement organizes for the Green New Deal — and a federal government that reins in the massive wealth hoarded by millionaires and billionaires and instead invests in community resiliency and infrastructure — our fundraisers reckon with the shortcomings of philanthropy as we fund our transformative work and build our grassroots donor base.

We have set up legal entities, drawing on the legacy of social movement organizations from the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee in the 1960s to United We Dream today, in order to accept and spend the funds we raise. We acknowledge that these centralized organizations represent only a fraction of our entire movement.

Our Fundraising Principles

Whether it means mobilizing thousands of people to give in small amounts or moving large checks from the monied to the movement, fundraising is about organizing people and organizing money. We all bear responsibility in this, which is why volunteer and staff fundraisers train Sunrise members to build their fundraising skills. We are creative in experimenting with methods of financing our hubs and moving resources to our base, in order to overcome the legal barriers put up by the establishment to disempower young people, communities of color, and the working class.

A monetary contribution is only one way to give to the movement. Many young people choose to give their time to building their local hub or phonebanking for Green New Deal champions, and we recognize these volunteers as the lifeblood of Sunrise. We hold ourselves true to Sunrise Principle #6, “we ask for help and we give what we can.”

We are a movement of young people and we let that show, dressing for funder meetings in the same way we’d dress for a training. We recognize that philanthropy has long been used as a tool to uphold capitalism and white supremacist culture. We resist the power that philanthropy attempts to hold over us by growing our small dollar donor base. We recognize we may lose foundation support for saying this.

We have turned down checks that come with expectations of input on our strategy and will continue to do so. Occasionally we will solicit project-based grants from foundations to fill gaps in our organizing, leading with the needs of our movement and not with the desires of funders. 

Capitalism and white supremacy leave precious little wealth in this country unspoiled by pain and exploitation. We accept money in service of dismantling the systems that created our country’s massive wealth inequality in the first place. Ultimately, a donation is a reflection of alignment, not of endorsement. 

We issue joint fundraising appeals, make connections for each other, and organize owning class donors in our movement to give directly to other organizations. We push our institutional funders to rethink their funding priorities, asking them to resource our partners, from visionary community groups led by people of color to organizations that likewise build mass movements for transformational change.

Electing Green New Deal champions into office is a core part of our theory of change. Our endorsed candidates, often BIPOC working class individuals, lack the funds and networks of establishment politicians. We use all the tools in our toolbox, including our federal PAC, to resource our champions in compliance with election law. Using these tools to their fullest potential is how we win.

Our movement organizes for real redistribution that breaks up the monopoly on wealth held by the elite, creating a more equal society through reparations and taxing the rich. We welcome funders who wish to join us in this fight, encouraging them to embrace risk by investing in youth movements.

Donate to help grow the climate revolution. Together we can win.

Sunrise is a movement of young people to stop climate change and create millions of jobs in the process. We’re building people and political power to make this a country where all of us can have a livable future – no matter the color of our skin or where we come from.

Can you make a donation today to help us fight for a Green New Deal and win?